Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Resident Opportunity and Self-Sufficiency (ROSS) - Service Coordinators Program

Grants to Support Employment of Service Coordinators

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Arkansas Department of Rural Services, funded by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)

Deadline Date:

02/21/11 11:59 PM


Request a Grant Writer

Grants ranging up to $720,000 for hiring and maintaining salaried Service Coordinators to coordinate and organize activities and services to help Public and Indian Housing residents attain economic and housing self-sufficiency. The purpose of this funding is to support the provision of Service Coordinators and does not fund the direct provision of services. Services should enable participating families to increase earned income, reduce or eliminate the need for welfare assistance, make progress toward achieving economic independence and housing self-sufficiency, or, in the case of elderly or disabled residents, help improve living conditions and enable residents to age-in-place. The Service Coordinator will ensure that program participants are linked to the supportive services they need to achieve self-sufficiency or remain independent. Funding may be used for position salary, training and administrative expenses.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 124044

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Estimated Size of Grant:

$240,000 - $720,000 (varies by housing units served)

Term of Contract:

3 years

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Eligible applicants are PHAs; tribes/TDHEs; nonprofit organizations including grassroots faith-based and other community-based organizations that have resident support, PHA support or the support of tribes; Resident Associations (RAs); resident councils (RCs); resident organizations (ROs); City-Wide Resident Organizations (CWROs); Intermediary Resident Organizations (IROs); Jurisdiction-Wide Resident Organizations; Regional Resident Organizations; Resident Management Corporations (RMCs); Site-Based Resident Organizations; Statewide Resident Organizations (SROs); and Tribal/TDHE resident groups.

Pre-proposal Conference:

HUD will hold an information broadcast via satellite for potential applicants to learn more about the ROSS SC program and preparation of an application. For more information about the date and time of this broadcast, you should consult the HUD webcast website at

Pre-Application Information:

At least 25 percent of the requested grant amount is required as a match. The match may be in cash and/or in-kind donations. Match may also be made up of self-sufficiency and supportive services/programs provided to participants in the ROSS-Service Coordinators program.

For answers to your questions, you may contact the Public and Indian Housing Resource Center at 800-955-2232. Prior to the application deadline, staff at the number given above will be available to provide general guidance, but not guidance on actually preparing the application. For programmatic questions, you may contact Anice Schervish Chenault, ROSS Program Manager at or 202-402-2341. Any FAQs or further information will be available at or on the NOFA-specific page that may be accessed from that page.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Public and Indian Housing Resource Center

For programmatic questions:
Anice Schervish Chenault, ROSS Program Manager
(202) 402-2341

CFDA Number:


Funding or Pin Number:


URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming