Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Grants to Indiana Local Agencies for Transportation-Related Projects

Local Public Agency (LPA) Programs: Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA)


Agency
State

GrantWatch ID#
137789

Funding Source
Indiana Department of Transportation
Array ( )

Geographic Focus
USA: Indiana

Important Dates
LOI Date: 11/22/23
Deadline: 12/01/23 5:00 PM EST Save

Grant Description
Grants to Indiana local government agencies for transportation-related projects. Certain applicants must submit a preliminary application prior to submitting a full proposal. Funding is intended for a range of new projects in rural regions, including but not limited to bridges, trails, roads, and sidewalks. If the project is a bridge project, the latest bridge inspection report for the particular bridge is required.

The Mission of the Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) Local Public Agency (LPA) Program is to provide Stewardship and Technical Assistance to Local Public Agencies through excellent education and collaborative relationships, to plan, build, and maintain a superior transportation system that promotes economic growth, ensures safety and complies with all local, state, and federal regulations. 

Road projects must be on the Federal Aid Highway System to be eligible.  On-System refers to roads classified as (1) all Arterials (Rural or Urban); (2) All Urban Collectors and Rural Major Collectors.  Off-system refers to Rural Minor Collectors and Local Roads.

For additional requirements, see Page 2 of the NOFO in Supporting Documents, below.



Recipient

Additional Eligibility Criteria
Applications will only be accepted from certified Local Public Agency Employee in Responsible Charge (LPA ERC) through INDOTs online application (Local Call Application) accessed through INDOT Technical Applications Pathway (ITAP).

Applicants must not be in arrears to INDOT for more than 60 days. Applicants must not be within the urbanized area of any Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO).

As part of the Stewardship-Oversight Agreement, each LPA is required to have at least two full-time LPA employees assigned as an Employee in Responsible Charge (ERC).

Ineligible
In general, selection will be denied for any application that:
- Is not compliant with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
- Does not fit the application criteria listed by the specific program.
- Is not submitted by a current Certified ERC.
- Is received without a financial commitment letter.
- The LPA is in arrears of 60 days or more of a past due resolved debt.

Pre-Application Information
This application period will be from 8:00 AM EST October 30, 2023, to 12:00 PM EST December 1, 2023. Due to the required review by the Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs) for projects in their planning areas, applications in the Metropolitan Planning Areas (MPAs) should be submitted by November 22, 2023.

Awards will be announced around the end of February 2024.

In order to apply for federal aid funds, the Local Public Agency’s Employee in Responsible Charge (LPA ERC) must be enrolled in the INDOT’s Technical Applications Pathway (ITAP).

Two important characteristics of federal aid are that it is both reimbursable and a matching program.

Contact Information
Apply online (from October 30): https://itap.indot.in.gov/Default.aspx

Crawfordsville
Susie Kemp - 765-361-5228 - skemp@indot.in.gov
Tessia Salsman - 812-524-3969 - tsalsman@indot.in.gov

Fort Wayne
David Armstrong - 260-969-8277 - darmstrong@indot.in.gov
Daniel Heflin - 260-399-7342 - dheflin@indot.in.gov

Greenfield
Erin Sutton - 317-467-3440 - erisutton@indot.in.gov
Kelcie Bishop - 317-232-3038 - kebishop@indot.in.gov

LaPorte
Marcia Blansett - 219-325-7564 - mblansett@indot.in.gov
Breanne Freese - 219-325-7493 - bfreese@indot.in.gov

Seymour
Brandi Fischvogt - 812-524-3961 - bfischvogt@indot.in.gov
Pamela Rees - 812-524-3771 - prees1@indot.in.gov

Vincennes
Brandi Mischler - 812-895-7389 - bmischler@indot.in.gov
Shawn Benner - 812-895-7315 - sbenner1@indot.in.gov

If the Program Director listed above is unavailable, the LPA may contact Mike Cales at the INDOT Central Office, LPA Programs at 317-232-5021 or mcales@indot.in.gov.

Grant News
Live Chat Chat Now