Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Kluge Fellowships

Fellowships for USA, Canada, and International PhDs
to Conduct Humanities or Social Science Research

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Library of Congress - John W. Kluge Center

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Fellowships of up to $5,000 per month to USA, Canada, and International researchers with a Ph.D. or other terminal degree to conduct research at a major library in the United States. Areas of interest for this fellowship are social science and humanistic research. Interdisciplinary and cross-cultural research is particularly welcome in the Kluge Fellowship program.

Kluge Fellows will conduct residential research at the Library of Congress. Among the collections available to researchers are the world's largest law library and outstanding multi-lingual collections of books and periodicals. Deep special collections of manuscripts, maps, music, films, recorded sound, prints and photographs are also available. In-residence scholars have access to the Library's specialized staff and to the intellectual community of Washington. Further information about the Library's collections can be found on the Library's website:

Two copies of any books that result from research at the Kluge Center should be sent to the Library of Congress. It is the responsibility of the fellow to notify Center staff of any other resulting academic publications (articles, films, websites, etc.). Kluge Fellows will also have opportunities to meet with Library specialists and curators, and on occasion with members of Congress and congressional staff.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 139604

Number of Grants:

Up to twelve Kluge Fellowships will be awarded annually.

Estimated Size of Grant:

$5,000 per month

Term of Contract:

Fellowships are tenable for periods from four to eleven months.

Fellows may be given residence at any time during the 18-month window after the fellowship letter is received.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Scholars who have received a terminal advanced degree within the past seven years in the humanities, social sciences or in a professional field such as architecture or law are eligible. The fellowship is also open to researchers without the terminal degree in their field whose proposal meets the criteria for scholarly merit and relevance to the challenges facing democracies in the 21st century.

Applicants may be U.S. citizens or foreign nationals. Upon selection, and in accordance with relevant visa regulations, foreign nationals will be assisted in obtaining the appropriate visa. To meet the minimum eligibility requirements, the degree must be formally awarded by the deadline date.

For applicants whose native language is not English, there must be evidence that the applicant is fluent in English so as easily to conduct research, discuss work with colleagues, and make a public presentation, although the ultimate product of the research may be written in the applicant's native language.

For English speakers who seek to do research in the Library's foreign language collections, there must be evidence that they have a command of the relevant language or languages at the level requisite for serious research.

Pre-Application Information:

Application Deadline: July 15

Awards will be announced in the spring of the year following that in which the application is due.

Application information:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply online:

The John W. Kluge Center
Phone: (202) 707-3302
Fax: (202) 707-3595

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.