Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

2018 Terrance Keenan Leadership Award in Health Philanthropy

Award to a USA Individual for Outstanding
Contributions to Health-Related Philanthropy

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Grantmakers In Health (GIH)

Deadline Date:

12/01/17 Receipt


Request a Grant Writer

Award of $5,000 to a USA individual to recognize outstanding contributions within the field of health philanthropy. Nominations are invited on behalf of philanthropic trustees, donors, and staff members who demonstrate innovation, leadership, boldness, creativity, and achievement.

First presented by Grantmakers In Health (GIH) in 1993, the Terrance Keenan Leadership Award pays tribute to the continuous effort of those in the field of health philanthropy. It recognizes and rewards grantmakers whose thoughtful use of philanthropic dollars has had an impact on human health, at any level.

Award recipients’ work should demonstrate responsiveness to the people in their communities, large or small, and particular responsiveness to those in the greatest need. It should also distinguish itself by creativity, risk-taking, and boldness toward forging permanent improvements in health.

Achievements may be in any area that involves health, such as services, delivery systems, public policy, public participation, prevention, wellness, education, or communications. Results may be at the local, state, regional, national, or international level.

Nominators are encouraged to address the following questions in their submissions:

-What achievements distinguish this nominee’s work?
-Describe how this individual has taken risks, shown innovation, and exhibited the flexibility and creativity needed to address the nation’s most pressing health problems.
-Describe how this individual has contributed to the effectiveness of the foundation’s grantees and enhanced their success.
-What makes this individual an outstanding grantmaker in the field of health? What are his or her significant contributions to the field?

-How has this individual shown leadership and strategic vision within his or her foundation?
-How has this individual shown leadership and strategic vision within the broader field of health philanthropy?
-How has this individual shown leadership within the community he or she serves?
-Describe how this individual has fostered, mentored, or inspired those working in the field.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 145225

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

The award carries a $5,000 honorarium.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The nominee must be, or have been within the last three years, an active grantmaker for at least five years with a health foundation or corporate giving program making grants in the field of health. The individual may serve as a trustee, staff member, or donor.

Grantmakers whose actions embody Terrance Keenan’s philosophy can be at any stage in their careers. The award honors grantmakers whether they are in the midst of their service to the field or are at the end of their career.

Current GIH board members are not eligible for nomination.

Pre-Application Information:

Nominations must be received by Friday, December 1, 2017.

The award recipient and nominators will be notified of the committee’s decision in March 2018.

The recipient must be available to participate in the luncheon awards presentation, which will be held during the 2018 GIH Annual Conference on Health Philanthropy, from June 20-22 in Chicago, Illinois.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Natasha Khanna, Communications Director

Grantmakers In Health
1100 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 1200
Washington, DC 20036

P: 202.452.8331
F: 202.452.8340

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming