Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Teaching Fellowships

Fellowships for USA High School Math and Science
Teachers for Professional Development Activities

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Knowles Science Teaching Foundation (KSTF)

Deadline Date:

11/26/17 11:59 PM PST


Request a Grant Writer

Fellowships for USA early career high school math and science teachers who are dedicated to challenging and supporting all students. These fellowships are intended to provide new math and science teachers with professional development, resources, and support to improve education in the country's schools.

The Foundation is looking for dedicated, passionate individuals who are committed to teaching, who demonstrate the potential to develop exemplary teaching practices, and who have the potential to lead and drive change in education.

Program Details:

The KSTF Teaching Fellowship is a five-year program divided into three phases (as outlined below), with each phase building on the next. During the program, Fellows will receive professional development from experienced educators and financial support for professional development, classroom materials and more.

Phase One (Years 1 and 2):

During the first two years of the program, Fellows reflect on and deepen their own math or science knowledge, develop the specialized forms of content knowledge needed for teaching, and use that knowledge to create profound learning opportunities for students.

While focusing on these areas, Fellows are also supported in becoming a community of inquiry that engages with and as critical friends. This emphasis on inquiry with others serves as the foundation for teachers leading from the classroom.

Phase Two (Years 3 and 4):

In the third and fourth years of the program, Fellows learn increasingly sophisticated ways to examine their teaching, classroom culture and student learning using many kinds of data. The overall goal is for Fellows to understand and improve learning opportunities for all of their students.

In this phase, Fellows are supported in bringing their school colleagues into this work and becoming more open to others’ perspectives.

Phase Three (Year 5):

In the final year of the program, the focus of inquiry shifts from a Fellow’s classroom to the professional community in which the Fellow works.

Fellows grapple with their own professional goals and commitments and what it means for them to lead in their context. They learn to understand their school and local community as a system, understand multiple leverage points for change, and experiment with ways to lead those communities toward better outcomes.

Reasons to Become a KSTF Fellow:

- Mentoring and Coaching: Experienced educators will collaborate with you, share ideas and support you through challenges during meetings online and in person.
- National Support Network: Connect with a community of over 300 experienced STEM classroom teachers.
- Online Community: When you need support, it’s just moments away through virtual conversations in our online community.
- Over 50 Hours of Professional Development Each Year > Summer and Cohort meetings bring the KSTF community together to interact with, learn from and provide feedback to each other.
- Grants: Apply for grants for classroom materials, leadership activities, professional development and National Board Certification.
- Stipends: Fellows are eligible to receive annual stipends that allow them to focus on reflection, preparation and professional development.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 147793

Number of Grants:

Approximately 35 individuals are selected each year to receive KSTF Fellowships.

Estimated Size of Grant:

The five-year Knowles Teaching Fellows Program provides a comprehensive suite of benefits valued at approximately $150,000, including:

- Membership in a nationwide community of more than 300 science and math educators;
- Stipends;
- Grants for professional development, classroom materials, and National Board Certification;
- Mentoring from experienced teachers and teacher educators; and
- Support for teacher leadership efforts.

Term of Contract:

This is a five-year fellowship program.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible for consideration, individuals must:

- Have the capacity and determination to commit to teaching as their primary career;
- Have earned a degree in a major related to the mathematics or science discipline they intend to teach no later than September 1, 2018 (this degree should have been earned no more than 10 years ago);
- Have earned or will earn a valid state teaching credential/certificate/license that enables them to teach mathematics or science in grades 9-12 in the United States no earlier than January 1, 2013 and no later than September 1, 2018; and
- Be entering their first or second year as teacher of record during the 2018–2019 academic year.

Pre-Application Information:

Additional Information:

- FAQs:
- Program Details:
- Eligibility and Criteria:
- Application Components/Requirements:
- Press Release:

Activity Timeline:

Nov. 26, 2017 at 11:59 p.m. PST: Application deadline for 2018 Teaching Fellowship

January 2018*: Telephone interviews for 2018 semi-finalists

March 2–3, 2018*: Interview weekend for 2018 finalists

May 11–12, 2018*: Orientation meeting for 2018 Teaching Fellows

July 26–28, 2018*: Summer Fellows’ Meeting

* Signifies mandatory participation to be considered for a 2018 Teaching Fellowship.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Click here to apply online:

Knowles Science Teaching Foundation
1000 N. Church Street
Moorestown, New Jersey 08057

Tel.: 856.608.0001
Fax: 856.608.0008

General Inquiries:
Teaching Fellowships:

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming