Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Arts Writers Grant

Grants to USA Individual Writers for New
Literary Works on Contemporary Visual Art

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Creative Capital and Andy Warhol Foundation

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA writers to create new works on contemporary visual arts. Grants are made to both established and emerging writers and can be in the categories of articles, blogs, books, new and alternative media, or short-form writing. Funding will apply to writings about visual art made after World War II.

Projects on post-WWII work in adjacent fields—architecture, media, film, theater and performance, sound, etc.—will only be considered if they directly and significantly engage the discourses and concerns of contemporary visual art. Projects with a pre-WWII component will only be considered if the main focus is contemporary.

The Article category supports essays, magazine features, and extended exhibition reviews. Catalogue essays will be considered, except for exhibitions held at commercial galleries. Articles may be published in print or online and may range from approximately ten to fifty manuscript pages. A confirmed publisher for a proposed article is not a prerequisite for application. Article grants are $15,000 each.

The Blog category supports the continuation of existing blogs and the creation of new blogs about contemporary visual art. We understand a blog to be an open-ended, ongoing website where most
posts are written by a single writer (or, if it is a collaborative blog, by the same few writers). The program distinguishes between blogs and online magazines (websites operated by individuals or
groups who function in an editorial capacity). The latter are not eligible for program support; however, writers may apply for texts to be published by online magazines in the Article or Short-Form
Writing categories. Blog grants are $30,000 each.

The Book category supports books at all stages of their development from research through the completion of writing. The category funds a broad spectrum of books on contemporary visual art, from general-audience criticism to academic scholarship. Book grants are $50,000.

The New and Alternative Media category supports projects that make use of technology to explore the process of writing and reading texts on contemporary visual art. Of particular interest are projects that deploy the potential of new and alternative media in response to the increasingly complex and hybrid nature of current artistic practice, that target new or wider audiences, and that advance innovative approaches to conducting a public dialogue about art.

Please note that the intention to publish your project online does not automatically make it eligible for this category. New and Alternative Media projects must in some way actively engage the properties and potential of their proposed medium. New and Alternative Media grants are $15,000 each.

The Short-Form Writing category supports the ongoing practice of writers who regularly produce short texts that respond to current exhibitions, events, and issues in contemporary visual art. By “short” we mean texts in the range of 250-1,500 words. By “writers who regularly produce” we
mean writers who, on average, publish at least one text per month (and who intend to publish at least that amount if awarded a grant). Short-Form Writing grants are $30,000 each.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 150417

Estimated Size of Grant:

Article grants: $15,000
Blog grants: $30,000
Book grants: $50,000
New and Alternative Media grants: $15,000
Short-Form Writing grants: $30,000

Term of Contract:

The grant period is one year, beginning in January 2018.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible for this grant, an arts writer must be:
- An individual;
- Applying for a project about contemporary visual art;
- An art historian, artist, critic, curator, journalist, or practitioner in an outside field who is strongly engaged with the contemporary visual arts;
- A US citizen, permanent resident of the United States, or holder of an O-1 visa;
- At least twenty-five years old;
- A published author (specific publication requirements vary depending on grant category).

An arts writer is NOT eligible for this grant if they are
- Applying on behalf of an organization;
- Applying for a project in which their primary involvement will be as an editor;
-A full-time student in a degree-granting program (with the exception of those students who are simultaneously maintaining professional careers as arts writers);
- An artist writing an interpretive essay on their own work;
- An artist whose proposed project does not directly address contemporary visual art (a piece of writing by an artist does not automatically qualify as “arts writing” in this context);
- Applying for a project based on a PhD dissertation or MA thesis;
- Applying to publish a Q&A interview (or series of Q&A interviews);
- Applying to assemble an archive or database;
- Applying for a project on Andy Warhol;
- Applying for a project that will be published by a commercial gallery;
- Agrantee of the Art Writers Grant Program;
- A current employee, consultant, board member, or funder of Creative Capital or the Warhol Foundation, or an immediate family member of such a person

Pre-Application Information:

Apr 12: Grant application opens
May 17: Grant application closes
Oct 2: Finalists notified
Nov 30: Grantees announced

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

To access the application form, go to

For technical questions about the SlideRoom application, you can email SlideRoom directly at

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming