Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Awards to USA Educators to Honor Excellence in Public Education

Awards for Teaching Excellence


GrantWatch ID#

Funding Source
The National Education Association (NEA) Foundation
Array ( )

Geographic Focus

Important Dates
Deadline: 05/02/22 Save

Grant Description
Awards to USA educators, including teachers, higher education faculty and staff, and education support professionals, in recognition of excellence in teaching. The annual prize honors public school educators throughout the country. Awardees are selected on the basis of their professional practice, advocacy for the profession, attention to equity and diversity, family and community engagement, and leadership in professional development.


  • Others (see text field entitled "Additional Eligibility Criteria" for clarification)

Additional Eligibility Criteria
All current members of a NEA local affiliate or bargaining unit are eligible, including teachers, education support professionals, and higher education faculty and staff. NEA state affiliates, the Federal Education Association, and direct affiliates may each submit one nomination per year. Only nominations submitted and endorsed by one of these affiliates will be considered. NEAF encourages NEA state leaders to consider awardees that reflect the diversity among NEA members.

Pre-Application Information
All applications must be submitted on the online application system, which opens November 10, 2021, and closes May 2, 2022.

The Foundation will notify all affiliate presidents and their awardees when Horace Mann awardees have been selected in Summer 2022.

- Each affiliate determines its own best process, reflecting due diligence, for selecting its awardee. The affiliate submits a single awardee’s name and qualifications to the NEA Foundation. (Each NEA affiliate may nominate one educator for the NEA Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence.)
- The national selection panel chooses the five recipients of the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence from among the affiliate awardees.
- The Horace Mann awardees will be invited for personal interviews with the national selection panel in August 2022 and based on these interviews, the NEA Member Benefits Award for Teaching Excellence recipient will be chosen.

About the Foundation:

Number of Grants
Five awardees are selected for the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence. One recipient of an Award for Teaching Excellence is selected from the five.

Estimated Size of Grant
All affiliate awardees receive expenses-paid travel to Washington, DC for the NEA Foundation’s Salute to Excellence in Education Gala in February. Five awardees are selected for the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence and receive $10,000 each plus expenses-paid travel for themselves and one guest. The NEA Member Benefits Award for Teaching Excellence recipient, selected from the five, receives $25,000 in cash and a commemorative gift.

Contact Information
To apply online:

The NEA Foundation
1201 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036

Grant News
Live Chat Chat Now