Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Awards to Quebec Authors to Recognize Literary Excellence

A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry, Concordia University First Book Prize, Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-fiction and Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction

Quebec Writers' Federation (QWF)

Agency: Foundation

GrantWatch ID #155526

Grant Description

Awards of $3,000 to Quebec authors to recognize literary excellence. Prizes will be awarded for works of literature in the following categories: poetry, fiction, non-fiction, and first book. Awards are intended to generate publicity for the authors, specifically to encourage emerging writers and generate additional book sales for established writers.

Need help writing this grant?


  • Others (see text field entitled "Additional Eligibility Criteria" for clarification)

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Books may be submitted by publishers or authors.

Eligibility Criteria:
- Books must have an ISBN, be commercially available to the public, and contain at least 48 pages of text, excluding illustrations, acknowledgments, etc. (Exception for “graphic novels”: the illustrations will be considered an integral part of the work, and therefore the work as a whole, not the textual component alone, must have at least 48 pages.)
- Electronic books are eligible provided that they become commercially available in their final form during the eligibility period, and that they meet all of the other criteria listed here.
- Books must have been written in English. The author must be alive and have a residence in Quebec at the time of submission. A person who has been living outside of Quebec continuously for the past five years will be considered ineligible. In the case of joint authorship (by two authors), one of the authors must satisfy all of the above requirements. Books by more than two authors are not eligible.
- The prize will be awarded to the author of the book. Should a co-authored book win, the prize will be divided equally between the two authors, or, if one of the authors is deceased, between the living author and the deceased author’s estate.

For additional Eligibilty Critera, see the URL for Full Text.

Pre-Application Information:

Books published between August 1, 2021 and September 30, 2022 may be submitted, provided that they were not submitted for the 2021 Awards.

Books published between August 1, 2021 and May 15, 2022 must be submitted for the June 1, 2022 deadline, along with a completed submission form and a $25 non-refundable fee for each submission.

Publishers or authors with titles coming out between May 16, 2022 and September 30, 2022 must send in a completed submission form and submission fee by the June 1, 2022 deadline. Completed books, ARCs or bound galleys must be received in the QWF office by August 1, 2022. The final published books must be received by September 30, 2021, or the title will be disqualified.

Electronic submissions must be received by the appropriate deadline date.

Mixed-genre books: A single copy (or manuscript) must be submitted by May 15, 2022 to allow QWF to determine whether the book is eligible and in which category it should be submitted.

Books published between August 1, 2022 and September 30, 2022 may instead be submitted for the 2023 prizes.

A first book may also be submitted for the fiction, non-fiction or poetry prize.

Publishers or authors with eligible titles must submit two physical copies and one electronic copy of the book in PDF format.

Each submission requires a completed entry form (two, if the book is submitted in two categories), and a $25 non-refundable registration fee for each submission (i.e., $50 for a book entered in two categories).

It is the responsibility of the publisher (or author) who is submitting the books, whether electronic or hard copies, to ensure that the submission has been received.

For COVID-19 submission information, see:

Awards Overview:

Additional Funding Information:

Estimated Size of Grant:

Each prize has a purse of $3,000.

Contact Information:

The books, accompanied by the entry form(s) and either a cheque payable to “QWF” for $25 for each submission OR an indication that payment has been made electronically, should be sent to:
Quebec Writers' Federation Awards
1200 Atwater Avenue, Room 3
Westmount, QC
H3Z 1X4

PDFs must be submitted to by the appropriate deadline date.

Payment of the registration fees ($25 per submission) can be made online here:

For further information: (514) 244-9088 or the above email address.

Live Chat Chat Now