Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Ron Mardigian Memorial Biotechnology Explorer Award

Award and In-Kind Support to a USA High School
Teacher for Contributions to Biotechnology Education

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) and Bio-Rad’s Biotechnology Explorer Program

Deadline Date:

12/10/17 - Deadline for nominations; Completed applications must be received by 12/15/2017


Request a Grant Writer

Award of $1,000 and an in-kind prize valued at $750 to USA high school teachers to acknowledge their outstanding contributions to making biotechnology education accessible in a classroom setting. Award money will be used to cover expenses to attend a national conference. In addition, the awardee will receive $750 in Bio-Rad products.

The awardee will be honored at the Awards Banquet; the awardee and one teacher guest of the awardee will be invited to dinner with members of Bio-Rad's Explorer team.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 156683

Estimated Size of Grant:

The award consists a $750 certificate for Bio-Rad products and up to $1,000 in expenses to attend the NSTA National Conference on Science Education.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Teachers of science in grades 9-12, with at least two years of experience integrating biotechnology into their lessons, that are legal residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia (excluding Puerto Rico).

Pre-Application Information:

Applicants must be nominated by December 10, 2017.

Completed applications must be received by December 15, 2017.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

To nominate:

To apply:

Phone: 703.243.7100
Fax: 703.243.7177

1840 Wilson Blvd.
Arlington VA 22201

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming