Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Wendell G. Mohling Outstanding Aerospace Educator Award

Award to a USA or Canada Informal Educator
for Contributions to Aerospace Education

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)

Deadline Date:

12/10/17 - Deadline for nominations; Completed applications must be received by 12/15/2017


Request a Grant Writer

Award totaling up to $5,000 to a USA, Territories, or Canada informal educator in settings such as science centers, museums, and government programs for outstanding contributions to aerospace education.

Recipients will receive a cash award of $3,000 as well as up to $2,000 to attend the NSTA National Conference on Science Education. The recipient of the Award will be honored during the Awards Banquet at the NSTA National Conference.

The applicant’s aerospace education program should:

- Foster observation, investigation, and creative thinking, promote scientific inquiry;
- Address student outcomes and reflect the use of the most current information and research understandings in the field;
- Provide opportunities to connect science educators and their students with the broader aerospace science and technology community;
- Provide students with interdisciplinary, multicultural, and multi-perspective viewpoints to demonstrate how aerospace exploration and research transcends national boundaries;
- Use appropriate technologies such as modeling, simulation, or distance learning to enhance aerospace education learning experiences and investigations;
- Present a balance of aeronautics, space exploration, and robotics by offering a relevant context for learning and integrating STEM core content knowledge;
- Support of NGSS;
- Meet proper safety standards.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 156691

Estimated Size of Grant:

$3,000, and $2,000 in expenses to attend NSTA’s national conference

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

- Both K–12 teachers of science in formal education settings (e.g., elementary, middle, high school) and educators in informal education settings (e.g., museums, government, science centers) are eligible to apply in alternating years.
- In 2017-18, only educators in an informal setting will be eligible for consideration.
- In 2018-19, only K–12 teachers in formal education settings will be eligible for consideration. Individuals nominated in formal education must have a minimum of 3 years teaching experience, and individuals nominated in informal education must have a minimum of 3 years in an informal setting. Self- nominations are accepted.

Pre-Application Information:

Individuals must be nominated for this award. Self-nominations will be accepted.

Applicants must be nominated by December 10, 2017.

Completed applications must be received by December 15, 2017.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

To nominate:

To apply:

Phone: 703.243.7100
Fax: 703.243.7177

1840 Wilson Blvd.
Arlington VA 22201

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon