Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

National Award for Teaching Excellence in Health Education

Awards to Canada K-12 Health Teachers for
Outstanding Achievements in Education and Service

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Physical Health and Education (PHE) Canada

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards to Canada K-12 health teachers for excellence in health education. The award will be given to teachers who motivate their students to pursue healthy habits and lifestyles, renew their skills with professional development opportunities, and have made an impact on colleagues in other schools and in the community.

The application package must demonstrate how the nominee:

- Provides a quality health education program, based on the provincial curriculum using sound pedagogical principles consistent with Comprehensive School Health (CSH). Specifically, provide information about how the nominee supports and implements the four pillars of CSH: Healthy Policy, Teaching and Learning, Healthy Social and Physical Environments, and Partnerships and Services. Also, describe the area(s) of health in which the nominee has contributed. For example, physical, social, emotional and/or spiritual.
- Serves as a role model epitomizing a healthy lifestyle.
- Has made a positive impact in the field of health education beyond the school. For example, involves agencies from the community in curriculum delivery, or has contributed to development or implementation of school or school division policy.
- Has made a substantial contribution to the field by positively impacting the teaching of health education curriculum in the school, region, and province.
- Participates in professional development opportunities related to the teaching of health education. It is intended that the nominee not only attend professional development opportunities but also shares their expertise with colleagues locally, regionally, provincially, or nationally.

National Award for Teaching Excellence in Health Education recipients receive:

- Award recognition plaque
- Recognition in the Annual Report and on the website
- Recognition during the next PHE Canada National Conference
- Complimentary registration at the next PHE Canada National Conference (travel and accommodations are not included)

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 158387

Number of Grants:

Up to 3 recipients are selected for this award each conference cycle.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible to receive the National Award for Teaching Excellence in Health Education, a nominee must meet the following requirements:

- Teaching responsibility for school-based health education in one or more grades from kindergarten to grade 12.
- Have a minimum of 5 years of teaching health education programs and/or curricula in one or more grades from kindergarten to grade 12.
- Is fully certified by the province to teach and follows provincial curriculum using sound pedagogical principles.
- Have a teaching contract, current at the time of nomination and selection.
- The individual must not be a previous recipient of this award or the Health Educator Award.

Pre-Application Information:

Application deadlines:

Anyone may nominate an individual for this award. This includes provincial/territorial physical and health education association members, colleagues, parents, students, or any individual wishing to highlight the exceptional service of a health educator.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit a nomination:

All letters and supporting documentation not attached to the online submission must be received by the PHE Canada office by the nomination deadline. They can be sent to:

Attn: Awards
Physical and Health Education Canada
301-2197 Riverside Drive
Ottawa, ON
K1H 7X3

Fax: 613-523-1206

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon