Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Health Promoting Schools Champion Award

Award to a Canada Individual or Organization for Contributions
to the Development of a School Health Philosophy

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Physical Health and Education (PHE) Canada

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award to a Canada individual or organization for outstanding contributions to the development or implementation of a school health philosophy specific to the following four pillars: teaching and learning, healthy policy, healthy social and physical environments, and partnerships and services. The award will be given to a recipient who has successfully engaged the school community and created sustainable change in the school, including, but not limited to, policy development or supportive environments.

Selection criteria:

- Describe the Health Promoting School in which the nominee is involved.
- The nominee's work is described in detail and the descriptions show how they accomplished and modeled the comprehensive school health philosophy specific to the four pillars: Healthy Policy, Teaching and Learning, Healthy Social and Physical Environments, and Partnerships and Services.
- Describe how the approach utilized by the nominee actively engaged the school community (or communities) including, but not limited to, staff, families, parent councils, etc.
- Outline the positive impacts made by the nominee(s) and provide examples/proof of their positive impacts.
- Describe how the work of the nominee has provided sustainable change within the school community, school board and/or region.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 158388

Number of Grants:

One recipient is selected for this award each conference cycle.

Estimated Size of Grant:

The recipient of this award receives:

- Award recognition plaque
- Recognition in the Annual Report and on the website
- Recognition during the next PHE Canada National Conference
- Complimentary registration at the next PHE Canada National Conference (travel and accommodations are not included)

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible for this award, nominees must meet the following criteria:

- The nominee(s) has been directly involved in Health Promoting School work.
- The nominee(s) can be from any sector (i.e., teachers, administrators, public health professionals, school board consultants, parent councils, volunteer agencies, not-for-profit groups, police, social services, etc.) and has worked collaboratively with others to create a Health Promoting School environment.
- The nominee(s) has made a positive impact in the area of Health Promoting Schools and has demonstrated results that show their impact (e.g. policy development, supportive environments, etc.)
- The nominee has developed a unique approach by encouraging the school community to role model the health and behaviours intended.
- The nominee has been able to successfully create, maintain and sustain a Health Promoting School through their commitment and work.
- The nominee must not be a previous recipient of this award.

Pre-Application Information:

Application deadline: January 15, 2019!

Nomination forms should be submitted online, with accompanying documentation submitted electronically, by fax or by mail.

Anyone may nominate. This includes:

- Provincial/territorial Physical and Health Education associations
- Public health professionals
- Colleagues
- Parents
- Students
- Any individual wishing to highlight the exceptional work of an individual, group or organization implementing a Health Promoting Schools program.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit a nomination:

Physical and Health Education Canada
Attn: Awards
301-2197 Riverside Drive
Ottawa, ON
K1H 7X3

Fax: 613-523-1206

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon