Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize

Awards to Canada Published Authors for Outstanding
Works of Fiction or Short Stories

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Writers' Trust (WT) of Canada

Deadline Date:

07/19/17 - For books published between May 24, 2017 and September 30, 2017 only


Request a Grant Writer

Awards of $25,000 and $2,500 to Canada authors of novels or short story collections published between October 1, 2016 and September 30, 2017. Publishers should note that the prize is for literary excellence and therefore should only submit books they deem outstanding in this regard.

The jurors will shortlist between three and five titles, and prizes of $2,500 will be awarded to each of the finalists.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 158724

Number of Grants:

One winner and 3-5 finalists.

Estimated Size of Grant:

Winner: $25,000
Finalists: $2,500

Term of Contract:

This award cycle is for books published between May 24, 2017 and September 30, 2017.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Titles must be published in Canada between October 1, 2016 and September 30, 2017. Books that are not yet in final published form by the deadline of July 29 may be submitted as bound galleys.

Books must be English-language, first-edition trade books published by a Canadian press, written by Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada. Previous publication in another country does not disqualify a book.

Translations from other languages into English are eligible and will be considered in the year in which the English translation is published. In the event of a translation winning the prize, the prize money will be divided as follows: $18,750 to the author, $6,250 to the translator.

To be eligible publishing houses must have a professional editorial process independent from the authors whose books are submitted for consideration. They must not charge authors for publishing their works.

All books must have an ISBN number and be available in Canadian bookstores for some duration between October 1, 2016 and September 30, 2017.

Titles may be single-authored or co-authored. Multi-authored collections, anthologies, and conference proceedings are not eligible.

Self-published and ghostwritten books are not eligible.

No more than 20% of the manuscript can be previously published in book form.

Books whose author was deceased at the time of publication are not eligible.

Pre-Application Information:

The schedule for submissions is tied to publication dates as follows:

Deadline 1: Wednesday, March 22, 2017
For books published between October 1, 2016 and March 21, 2017

Deadline 2: Wednesday, May 24, 2017
For books published between March 22, 2017 and May 23, 2017

Deadline 3: Wednesday, July 19, 2017
For books published between May 24, 2017 and September 30, 2017

Please note, books that are not yet in final published form by the deadline may be submitted as bound galleys.

Publishers are strongly encouraged to submit books prior to the deadlines. Submissions upon release of titles are appreciated. If a publisher, for any reason whatsoever, feels they cannot submit titles in accordance with the above schedule it is requested that they contact the Program Manager to discuss alternate arrangements or the possibility of an extension.

Number of Submissions: All Canadian-based publishers of five or fewer original manuscripts may enter two books. Companies publishing six to seven eligible books may enter three; those publishing eight to nine may enter four; and those publishing ten or more may enter five.

The list of finalist authors will be announced in September 2017 and the award will be presented in November 2017 in Toronto at the Writers’ Trust Awards.

If an author is a finalist the publisher will agree to commit resources, in accordance to their ability, to ensure shortlisted authors are able to attend the International Festival of Authors in Toronto in October 2017.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Fill out the submission form at the bottom of the RFP URL.

Send book submissions to:
Amanda Hopkins, Program Manager
The Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize
Writers’ Trust of Canada
600 - 460 Richmond Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1Y1

Amanda Hopkins, Program Manager
Phone: 416.504.8222
Toll Free: 1.877.906.6548

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon