Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

First Amendment Press Freedom Award

Awards to USA High Schools That Support The
First Amendment Through Their Student Media

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Journalism Education Association (JEA)

Deadline Date:

12/15/17 11:59 PM Central Time / 9:59 PM Pacific Time


Request a Grant Writer

Awards to USA high schools in recognition of their efforts to actively support and promote the First Amendment through their student media. This award focuses on the freedom of the press. The funding source encourages schools with student media policies categorizing those media as forums for student expression or open forums and those operating as forums by practice even if they do not have a policy stating such to enter.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 159745

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

This award is for high schools only. Schools previously named as First Amendment Press Freedom Award winners must reapply to be considered for this year's selection.

Pre-Application Information:

To apply, a school must submit two questionnaires – one from a student, and one from a teacher or from an administrator. Round One applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. Central time/9:59 p.m. Pacific time Dec. 15.

The link to apply is in the Contact Information section below.

Note: Even if your school has received FAPFA recognition before, you must reapply each year.

Those whose responses qualify them to go further in the competition will receive information about Round Two questionnaires early the following year.

Those schools receiving the award will be honored at the opening ceremony of the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

The Round One application for the First Amendment Press Freedom Award can be found here:

Staff Contact:

Kelly Glasscock CJE
Executive Director

Journalism Education Association
105 Kedzie Hall
828 Mid-Campus Dr. S.
Manhattan KS 66506-1500

Work Phone: 785-532-7822
Cell Phone: 316-619-9403
Work Email:

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming