Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Practice and Leadership (P+L) Award

Awards to USA and Canada Professors of Architecture
for Excellence in Educational Practices

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Institute of Architects (AIA) and Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA)

Deadline Date:

09/26/18 5:00 PM EDT


Request a Grant Writer

Awards to USA and Canada professors of architecture at member schools to recognize examples of highly effective teaching, outreach, and scholarship in the areas of leadership and professional practice. These awards recognize excellence in architecture education as demonstrated in various educational settings, including studio, classroom, and community work.

Submissions should show evidence of exceptional and innovative courses, initiatives, or programs that:
- Deal with issues associated with the practice of architecture, including management, advocacy, and acting legally, ethically and critically for the good of the client, society, and the public; and
- Promote models of excellence that can be appropriated by other educators.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 160156

Number of Grants:

The ACSA Awards Committee shall recommend to the ACSA board for approval no more than three submissions for this award per year.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

All courses, initiatives, or programs completed within the last five years (since January 1, 2013) and that have not previously received an ACSA Award are eligible for consideration. Courses may be from a pre-professional, first professional, or post-professional program offered in ACSA full-member and candidate-member schools.

Pre-Application Information:

Submission Deadline: September 26, 2018

All material must be submitted by September 26, 2018 at 5:00 pm EDT. All materials are to be submitted through the online system; once the submission is finalized all parties will receive a confirmation email. The supporting letters are best uploaded as PDF documents.

The ACSA Awards Committee shall recommend to the ACSA Board for approval no more than three submissions for this award per year. The jury, in any year, may choose not to bestow the ACSA/AIA Practice and Leadership Award. The ACSA president and the AIA President shall present recipients with a certificate during the ACSA Annual Meeting.

Award winners are expected to register and attend the Awards Ceremony at the 107th ACSA Annual Meeting in Pittsburgh, PA.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online submission:

Eric W. Ellis, Director of Programs and Operations

Allison Smith, Programs Manager

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon