Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion for Excellence in Architectural Education

Award to a USA Individual for Outstanding
Contributions to the Teaching of Architecture

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Institute of Architects (AIA) and Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA)

Deadline Date:

10/06/17 5:00 PM EDT


Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA individual to recognize exemplary contributions to the quality of architectural education in North America. Nominations are invited on behalf of living individuals who have spent at least ten years primarily engaged in architectural education, and whose main contribution to the field has been on the North American continent.


-The candidate shall have evidenced great depth, having a cumulative effect on a long line of students.

-The candidate shall have evidenced great breadth, having influenced a wide range of students.

-The candidate shall be a person whose activities have consistently directed themselves toward the future as well as the past.

-The candidate shall have evidenced the ability to transcend specific areas of expertise or shall have made connections between areas, in the event that the candidate’s areas of focus might be considered circumscribed.

-The candidate shall be widely known by the quality of his or her products: by those who also taught, by those who practiced architecture, and by those who perhaps did neither.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 160157

Number of Grants:


Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Candidates must be living at the time of nomination and must have spent at least a decade involved primarily in architectural education in North America.

Pre-Application Information:

Colleagues, students, and former students may submit nominations.

The entire submission must be submitted online by 5:00 PM EDT on October 6, 2017.

The recipient shall receive a Topaz Medallion and certificate to be presented at the ACSA Annual Meeting by the Presidents of ACSA and AIA, and at the AIA National Convention and Expo.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit a Nomination:

Eric W. Ellis, Director of Programs and Operations
(202) 785- 2324

Allison Smith, Programs Manager

Kathleen Daileda, Hon. AIA, Director, Honors & Awards
(202) 626 7474

Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture
1735 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon