Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Collaborative Practice (CP) Award

Awards to USA and Canada Architecture
Teachers for Community Collaboration

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA)

Deadline Date:

09/26/18 5:00 PM EDT


Request a Grant Writer

Awards to USA and Canada teachers at member architecture schools to recognize excellence in community and university-based programming. Funding is intended to recognize community partnerships that address social injustice through architectural design.

Collaborative and community engaged design education can have transformative impacts upon both students and citizens. The Collaborative Practice is awarded annually to innovative and sustained initiatives that extend design education beyond the classroom and into communities.

This ACSA award recognizes programs that demonstrate how faculty, students, community groups, and/or civic clients, can work to realize common objectives. Participation by professional practitioners and colleagues from other academic disciplines is encouraged.
- Architecture
- Landscape
- Interior
- Planning
- Industrial
- Urban

Collaborative projects and practice can encompass a variety of endeavors, including but not limited to: new construction, rehabilitation, open space planning, zoning and regulatory reform, community engaged research initiatives, and the development of new institutions or social processes.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 160158

Number of Grants:

The ACSA Awards Committee shall recommend to the ACSA board for approval no more than four projects for this award per year.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Persons in ACSA full-member and candidate-member schools who are primarily engaged in teaching may enter one or more submissions relevant to their educational activities. Projects that have previously been recognized by ACSA will not be considered.

Pre-Application Information:

All material must be submitted online by September 26, 2018 at 5:00 pm EDT. The submitter will need to log into the ACSA website in order to submit.

Submissions must explain the nature of the collaboration and demonstrate what students learned and how the community benefited.

The Committee, in any year, may choose not to bestow the Collaborative Practice Award. ACSA shall present recipients with a certificate during the ACSA Annual Meeting and recipients will have the opportunity to present their work.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online submission:

Eric W. Ellis, Director of Programs and Operations

Allison Smith, Programs Manager

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon