Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Award to USA or Canada IHE Mathematics Department in Recognition of an Outstanding Program

Award for an Exemplary Program or Achievement in a Mathematics Department


GrantWatch ID#

Funding Source
Array ( )

Geographic Focus
Canada:Alberta;   British Columbia;   Manitoba;   New Brunswick;   Newfoundland and Labrador;   Northwest Territories;   Nova Scotia;   Nunavut;   Ontario;   Prince Edward Island;   Quebec;   Saskatchewan;   Yukon;

Important Dates
Deadline: 05/31/23 11:59 PM Save

Grant Description
Award of $5,000 to a USA or Canada higher education mathematics department in recognition of an outstanding program. This award recognizes a department that has contributed significantly to the field by undertaking an unusual or particularly effective program of value internally, to the mathematics community, or in relation to the rest of society.

Examples might include a department that runs a notable minority outreach program, a department that has instituted an unusually effective industrial mathematics internship program, a department that has promoted mathematics so successfully that a large fraction of its university's undergraduate population majors in mathematics, or a department that has made some form of innovation in its research support to faculty and/or graduate students, or which has created a special and innovative environment for some aspect of mathematics research.


Additional Eligibility Criteria
Departments of mathematical sciences in North America that offer at least a bachelor's degree in mathematical sciences are eligible.

Pre-Application Information
- Nomination period: February 1-May 31, 2023
- Deadline: May 31, 2023, 11:59 PM

- A letter of nomination may be submitted by one or more individuals. Nomination of the writer's own institution is permitted.
- The letter should describe the specific program(s) for which the department is being nominated as well as the achievements which make the program(s) an outstanding success and may include any ancillary documents which support the success of the program(s).
- Where possible, the letter and documentation should address how these successes came about by 1) systematic, reproducible changes in programs that might be implemented by others and/or 2) having value outside the mathematical community.

Additional information:

Estimated Size of Grant
This US$5,000 prize is awarded annually.

Contact Information

Contact: AMS Secretary,

American Mathematical Society
201 Charles Street
Providence, RI 02904

Grant News
Live Chat Chat Now