Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Joint Policy Board for Mathematics (JPBM) Communications Award

Awards to USA, Canada, and International Individuals
to Recognize Engagement of the Public in Mathematics

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Mathematical Society (AMS)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards of $2,000 to USA, Canada, and International individuals who explain mathematical ideas to non-mathematical audiences on a continuous basis. Previous awards have been given to individuals who have explained the concept of mathematics through doodles on YouTube, through TV series, and through their books.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 160649

Number of Grants:

Up to two awards are made annually.

Estimated Size of Grant:

Up to two awards of $2,000 are made annually.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Both mathematicians and non-mathematicians are eligible.

Pre-Application Information:

Nomination Deadline: March 15, 2019

Next Award: January 2020

Nomination letters should include biographical information and a short description of the work that is the basis of the nomination.

Previous Awardees:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Nominations should be submitted to:

Professor Carla D. Savage
Office of the AMS Secretary
Department of Computer Science
Box 8206
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-8206 USA

Phone: 919-515-7863
Fax: 919-515-7896

To email Carla Savage:

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.