Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

John Cotton Dana Award for Leadership

Award to a USA, Canada, or International Individual for
Excellence in Promoting Museum Education

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Alliance of Museums

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA, Canada, or International individual for exceptional leadership in promoting the capacity and educational responsibility of museums. Eligible candidates may not be actively involved with museum education. Eligible applicants may be curators, museum directors, exhibit designers, researchers, school administrators, government officials, as well as those involved with noprofits, corporations, or training programs.

This award recognizes an individual, other than someone working directly with museum education programs, for efforts on behalf of public education and community service.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 161380

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Eligible Nominees:

- Museum directors
- Curators
- Researchers
- Exhibit designers
- School administrators
- government officials
- Those in foundations, corporations and training programs

Only practicing museum educators are ineligible since this award is designed to recognize those outside the field of museum education who exhibit outstanding leadership and promote the educational responsibility and capacity of museums.

Pre-Application Information:

Submissions deadline: December 10, 2017

The John Cotton Dana Award recognizes exemplary leadership. It is therefore awarded on an occasional basis (not annually) as extraordinary leadership is brought to the attention of the nominating committee through the nomination process.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online application form:

Claudia Ocello, EdCom Leadership Development/Awards Chair

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.