Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

John Cotton Dana Award for Leadership

Award to a USA, Canada, or International Individual to
Recognize Leadership in Museum Education

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Alliance of Museums (AAM)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA, Canada, or International individual for exceptional leadership in promoting the capacity and educational responsibility of museums. Qualified nominees may be curators, museum directors, exhibit designers, researchers, government officials, school administrators, foundation staff, corporations, or training programs.

This award recognizes an individual, other than someone working directly with museum education programs, for efforts on behalf of public education and community service.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 161380

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Eligible Nominees:
- Museum directors
- Curators
- Researchers
- Exhibit designers
- School administrators
- government officials
- Those in foundations
- Corporations
- Training programs

This award is designed to recognize those outside the field of museum education who exhibit outstanding leadership and promote the educational responsibility and capacity of museums. Therefore, only practicing museum educators are ineligible.

Pre-Application Information:

Nominations are due by Sunday, December 15, 2019.

The John Cotton Dana Award recognizes exemplary leadership. It is therefore awarded on an occasional basis (not annually) as extraordinary leadership is brought to the attention of the nominating committee through the nomination process.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online nomination form:

Veronica Alvarez, EdCom Awards Chair

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.