Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

2017 Emerson Excellence in Teaching Awards

Awards to Missouri and Illinois Educators for
Outstanding Teaching in the St. Louis Area

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 


Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards to recognize Missouri and Illinois K-12 teachers and college professors in the St. Louis metropolitan area who demonstrate excellence in their field. Recipients are nominated by the chief administrators of their school districts or educational institutions.

For the purposes of this program, the St. Louis metropolitan area is considered to include: (in Missouri) Franklin County, Jefferson County, St. Charles County, St. Louis City, St. Louis County; and (in Illinois) Jersey County, Madison County, Monroe County, and St. Clair County.

Awardees will be selected based on their passion and commitment to the teaching profession; tangible evidence of the success of the individual's classroom teaching approach; professional growth and development; innovation and creativity in the classroom; and knowledge of current teaching techniques and educational issues.

This year’s Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award recipients, with the exception of college-level educators, will also be eligible to apply for Gold Star cash grants that Emerson has made available to help support development goals of these teachers. A formal letter of invitation and application form will be sent directly to the Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award honorees in December.

Honorees are announced and recognized at an invitation-only awards ceremony and reception sponsored by Emerson that is held each November. This year, the event will be at The Ritz-Carlton in Clayton. Each honoree receives an engraved Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award – a Tiffany crystal apple – and a signed achievement certificate. A news release listing the honorees is also sent to St. Louis area news media.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 161596

Number of Grants:

These awards recognize more than 100 educators in the St. Louis metropolitan area.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Participation in the Emerson Excellence in Teaching Awards Program is by open invitation to all public and private schools in the St. Louis metropolitan area providing full-time instruction for students in kindergarten through college.

Only teachers who have completed three or more years of employment at their current school are eligible to be selected, and a teacher cannot be nominated for the same school district more than once.

Pre-Application Information:

Applications are now being accepted for the 2017 Emerson Excellence in Teaching Awards. Recipients are selected and submitted by the chief administrators of their school districts or educational institutions. The deadline for honoree submission through the online application is Friday, September 22, 2017.

Note: For educational institutions that are eligible for more than one honoree (one honoree for every 500 full-time teachers), please enter one honoree at a time.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

To submit your honoree, complete the attached application and email to:

If you prefer to fill out the paper form, please return via mail or fax to:
Bonnie Stack
200 N. Broadway
St. Louis, MO 63102
Fax: 314-982-1798

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Illinois: Jersey, Madison, Monroe, and St. Clair Counties;   Missouri: Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles, and St. Louis Counties; and St. Louis City