Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Nancy Hanks Award for Professional Excellence

Award to Recognize a USA, Canada, or International Museum
Professional for Outstanding Achievement in the Field

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Alliance of Museums

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award of $1,000 to recognize an outstanding USA, Canada, or International museum professional with less than ten years in the field. This award will recognize a specific achievement or body of work that has benefited either the honoree’s home institution or the museum field in general. The honoree’s work may be in any area of museum operations (administration, collections management, community engagement, curation, development, exhibitions, education, human resources, public relations, registration, etc.).

Recent award winners have been recognized for harnessing social media to excite and engage audiences about museums’ work, significantly growing their institutions' membership programs, designing innovative learning environments, and transforming their museums into vibrant community hubs.

The award carries a $1,000 stipend to be used in furtherance of the honoree’s professional development. It is typically presented at the AAM Annual Meeting.

Evaluations are based on the following criteria:

- The nature of the nominee’s achievement(s).
- The impact of the nominee’s achievement(s) on the museum and/or the field.
- The case made in the nominator’s narrative summary and through letters of support.

Note: The above factors are considered in relation to the nominee’s length of time in the museum field and current position and responsibilities.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 161621

Estimated Size of Grant:

The award carries a $1,000 stipend to be used in furtherance of the honoree’s professional development.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:


- Nominee should have less than 10 years’ experience in the museum field.
- Nominee should be a currently active museum professional.
- Nominee may be from or based in any country; award is not limited to USA museum professionals or contributions to the USA museum field.

Pre-Application Information:

If you know someone with less than 10 years’ experience who's having a major impact in their museum or in the field, nominate them to be considered for the Nancy Hanks Memorial Award.

Note: Individuals cannot self-nominate for the Nancy Hanks Memorial Award for Professional Excellence.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit a Nomination:

Contact with questions.

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.