Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

John and Alice Tyler Prize

Prizes to USA, Canada, and International Individuals
and Institutions for Contributions to the Environment

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

University of Southern California - John and Alice Tyler Charitable Trusts

Deadline Date:

07/27/18 5:00 PM PT


Request a Grant Writer

Prizes to USA, Canada, and International individuals and institutions to recognize outstanding contributions to environmental quality and protection. Nominations will be considered for those who have contributed to environmental conservation, energy resources, and medical achievements that benefit environmental aspects of human health.

The Prize is endowed by gifts from the John and Alice Tyler Charitable Trusts, and awardees are chosen annually by the Executive Committee. The University of Southern California administers the Tyler Prize.

Prizes are awarded for any one of the following:

-The protection, maintenance, improvement or understanding of an ecological or an environmental condition anywhere in the world.

-The discovery, further development, improvement, or understanding of known or new sources of energy.

-Medical discoveries or achievements with such worldwide implications that they significantly benefit environmental aspects of human health.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 161648

Estimated Size of Grant:

Recipients of the Tyler Prize are honored in an illustrious ceremony, presented with the Tyler Prize medallion and awarded USD $200,000.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Living individuals or public or private institutions of any nation are eligible for nomination.

Pre-Application Information:

Persons or institutions eligible to make nominations include, but are not limited to, any individuals or entity in fields such as biology, oceanography, geology, medicine, public health, chemistry, physics, engineering and social sciences.

Self-nominations are not accepted.

Submissions for the 2019 Cycle and 2016 submission updates are due by 5:00 PM (PT), Friday, July 27, 2018.

All initial nominations will be reviewed by the Executive Committee and select a short-list of nominees for whom additional information will be required. All nominators will be notified by September 27, 2018 as to whether or not their nominee has advanced to the short list.

All nominees will be considered for three years beginning with the first year of nomination.

Nomination Procedure:

About the Prize:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit nominations to:

For general information, the nomination procedure or candidacy please contact:

Amber Brown, Administrator
+1 213-740-6559

University of Southern California
3454 Trousdale Parkway, CAS 200
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0153

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.