Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Fellowships to USA Individuals to Work on Projects that Advance Social Justice

Voqal Fellowship


Agency
Foundation

GrantWatch ID#
162765

Funding Source
Voqal
Array ( )

Geographic Focus
All USA

Important Dates
Deadline: 10/31/23 11:59 PM ET Save

Grant Description
Fellowships to USA individuals to work on projects that advance social justice. In addition to a cash stipend of $30,000, fellows will receive networking and capacity-building opportunities, business development coaching, and storytelling training. The fellowship is intended to support politically progressive causes in focus areas such as racial, educational, immigrant, and environmental justice.

Voqal believes that taking risks with innovative, progressive ideas is necessary to advance social change. The Voqal Fellowship is an investment in people as individuals and budding entrepreneurs; a talent accelerator aimed at giving those often overlooked by traditional funders a chance to enact their visions at center stage.

Voqal seeks social justice-oriented leaders, thinkers, doers, and believers who have a big idea to organize communities for equitable social change. Voqal accepts any progressive idea, so long as it is innovative, community-led, and addresses a systemic issue with an equity lens.

Fellows work on ideas to build power with and in historically unrepresented communities by reforming structures and institutions, including but certainly not limited to:

  • Educational Systems.
  • Healthcare Systems.
  • Financial Systems.
  • Housing Systems.
  • Media Systems.
  • Criminal Justice Systems.


Recipient

Additional Eligibility Criteria
Voqal seeks social justice-oriented leaders, thinkers, doers, and believers who have a big idea to organize communities for equitable social change. All bold visionaries are encouraged to apply. Those with lived experience who represent non-dominant culture and who seek to resource historically excluded communities will be prioritized.

Applicants must provide documentation to show that they are eligible to work in the United States for the duration of the fellowship.

Pre-Proposal Conference
Voqal will host two online information sessions to review the application process and answer questions. Both sessions will cover the same information, so attending more than one isn’t necessary.

Info Session #1
Wednesday, September 13: 2 p.m. EDT (1 p.m. CDT,12 p.m. MDT, 11 a.m. PDT)
Click here to register and receive a connection link: https://voqal-org.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZYucu2pqzouHdWJflHJ6RMT4Sp-kjV9jQnv#/registration

Info Session #2
Thursday, October 5: 12 p.m. EDT (11 a.m. CDT, 10 a.m. MDT, 9 a.m. PDT)
Click here to register and receive a connection link: https://voqal-org.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZ0pcequrTkpHNZ7ETcEO6SBiVuud0Ue2sAu#/registration

Voqal will record the first session and post the video on the site within a week.

Pre-Application Information
Applications are open through Tuesday, October 31, 2023, at 11:59 p.m. EDT (8:59 p.m. PDT).

An individual can only apply (submit one project) per year.

Application guides: https://issuu.com/voqal/docs/voqal_faq_applicant_guide_final/2

View a recording of the info session: https://voqal-org.zoom.us/rec/share/udPzD6w_8bZ4Fsys4u57cA7HY6sDBf-Nwvqxb9UE-wwPIqAYNgnowrQMdQ_cnsdE.mC7C7uWKgO4dzjVQ

Estimated Size of Grant
Each fellow receives:
- $30,000.
- Storytelling training.
- Business development coaching.
- Capacity-building and networking opportunities.

Term of Contract
The fellowship will take place from April 2024 - September 2024.

Contact Information
Apply online: https://www.grantinterface.com/Home/Logon?urlkey=mediaideation

For technical assistance, contact voqalfellowship@gmail.com or call 1-303-
351-7047.

Voqal
P.O. Box 6060
Boulder, CO 80306

Grant News
Live Chat Chat Now