Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Education Awards

Awards to USA or International Teachers for
Excellence in Computer Science Education

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award of $2,000 and award of $5,000 to USA or International computer science professors for outstanding contributions to engineering and computer science education. Two separate awards will be given: one to honor general accomplishments, and one to specifically honor accomplishments in undergraduate education.

Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award:

A certificate and $2,000 honorarium are awarded for outstanding contributions to undergraduate education through teaching and service, and for helping to maintain interest in the field and make a statement about the importance with which the IEEE Computer Society views undergraduate education.

The selection process will focus on the following factors:

Input from Colleges:
(a) Documented evidence of sustained excellence in undergraduate teaching.

Advising and Mentoring:
(b) Documented evidence of excellence in advising and mentoring undergraduate students.

Courses and Labs:
(c) Development and implementation of undergraduate courses and laboratories.

(d) Dissemination of successful or innovative approaches to undergraduate teaching.

Taylor L. Booth Education Award:

A bronze medal and $5,000 honorarium are awarded for an outstanding record in computer science and engineering education. The individual must meet two or more of the following criteria in the computer science and engineering field:

1. Achieving recognition as a teacher of renown.
2. Writing an influential text.
3. Leading, inspiring or providing significant education content during the creation of a curriculum in the field.
4. Inspiring others to a career in computer science and engineering education.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 163370

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award: A certificate and $2,000 honorarium are awarded.

Taylor L. Booth Education Award: A bronze medal and US $5,000 honorarium are awarded.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

For the Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award, nominees must be a faculty member in a degree program in computer science, computer engineering, computer information systems, or a similar program.

Anyone may nominate. Membership in IEEE or the IEEE CS is not required to nominate, endorse, or receive IEEE CS awards.

Self‚Äźnominations are not accepted.

Franchised Board of Governors members cannot nominate or endorse major award nominations.

Pre-Application Information:

Deadline for 2019 nominations: 1 October 2018

The Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award requires a minimum of three endorsements for nomination.

The Taylor L. Booth Education Award requires two endorsements for a nomination.

Nomination information:

Awards FAQ:

More on the Undergraduate Teaching Award:

More on the Taylor L. Booth Education Award:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

To nominate a candidate for the Undergraduate Teaching Award:

To nominate a candidate for the Taylor L. Booth Education Award:

Paolo Montuschi, Awards Committee Chair

IEEE Computer Society
2001 L Street N.W., Suite 700
Washington, DC 20036-4928

Phone: +1-202-371-0101
FAX: +1-202-728-9614

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.