Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Consolidated Nuclear Security (CNS) Y-12 Community Investment Fund Grant

Grants to East Tennessee Nonprofits, Schools, and
Agencies for Historic Preservation and Mental Health

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

East Tennessee Foundation (ETF) - Consolidated Nuclear Security (CNS) Y-12 Community Investment Fund

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Grants generally ranging from $2,000 to $15,000 to East Tennessee nonprofits, units of government, and educational institutions for community benefit programs in eligible areas. Priority will be given to programs in historic preservation and mental health and substance abuse prevention.

Funding preference will be given to proposals that effectively address one or more of the following priorities:

Historic and Cultural Preservation: Projects/programs that identify and protect places, objects, and stories that create our region's historic and/or cultural identity. This may include preserving oral histories; promoting historic and cultural walking tours; organizing historic and cultural festivals; teaching historic trades, folklore, and crafts; organizing cemetery clean-up projects; or supporting restoration projects.

Mental Health & Substance Abuse: Projects/programs related to individuals' psychological or emotional well-being; and or excessive use of a controlled or illegal substance (alcohol, narcotics, etc.) without medical justification. Mental health and substance abuse are often interrelated. This may include prevention, public education, and treatment programs; programs that address Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome; programs helping homeless populations; or programs for veterans suffering from PTSD and other issues.

Consolidated Nuclear Security, LLC (CNS), the contractor at Y-12 National Security Complex in Oak Ridge, TN, and the Pantex Plant in Amarillo, TX, established funds at East Tennessee Foundation and Amarillo Area Foundation as part of their commitment to the host communities of Amarillo and Oak Ridge, as well as their local counties and regions.

By establishing the CNS Y-12 Community Investment Fund at ETF, CNS has created opportunities for its employees to award grants benefiting nonprofit organization in their 20-county service area in East Tennessee, which includes but is not limited to the City of Oak Ridge, and Anderson and Roane Counties. (20 counties: Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Cumberland, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sevier, Union)

With the leadership of an employee-based CNS Y-12 Investment Advisory Committee, CNS employees have the opportunity to recommend grant support where the need is the greatest and the resources are best allocated.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 166767

Estimated Size of Grant:

Grants will generally range from $2,000 to $15,000.

Term of Contract:

Grants will be awarded for one-year terms.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Applicant organizations must be a 501(c)(3) public charity, unit of government, or educational institution in the Foundation's 20-county service area.

New or emerging groups that do not have nonprofit status may apply if they have an established nonprofit organization as a fiscal sponsor.

The following types of requests will not be funded:

- Projects that have explicit religious content, express a particular religious view or advance a religious purpose
- Debt retirement or budget deficits
- Endowment funds or general fundraising campaigns
- Capital improvements
- Grants to individuals

Eligibility Guidelines:

Pre-Application Information:

The online application will be available April 25, 2018, and the submission deadline will be May 23, 2018. Grants will be awarded in fall 2018.


Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Register and apply online:

Please direct your questions to:

Jan Elston, Vice President for Competitive Grant Programs
East Tennessee Foundation
520 W. Summit Hill Drive, Suite 1101
Knoxville, TN 37902

(865)524-1223 or toll-free at (877)524-1223

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Tennessee: Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Cumberland, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sevier, and Union Counties