Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Patterson Partnership 2017

Grants and In-Kind Grants of Books to USA
PreK-12 Teachers to Build Classroom Libraries

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 


Deadline Date:

07/31/17 11:59 PM ET


Request a Grant Writer

Grants of $500 and in-kind grants of books valued at $75 or $520 to USA PreK-12 teachers to help build their classroom libraries. Through this program, the Funding Source aims to encourage the personal and intellectual growth of all children, starting with literacy and a love of reading.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 170554

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Number of Grants:

3,500 Winners and 500 Runners-Up

Estimated Size of Grant:

The Patterson Partnership Grant is $500. In addition, the winning teachers will receive 500 Scholastic Reading Club Bonus Points to be used toward books for their classrooms, valued at $520.

Runners-Up and will receive a James Patterson Library, valued at $75.


Additional Eligibility Criteria:

You are eligible to enter the sweepstakes if you are currently a legal resident of the 50 States or the District of Columbia and actively teaching a PreK through 12th grade class in a US school.

Teachers can win only one time in the 2017 Patterson Partnership sweepstakes. However, teachers who won Patterson Partnership grants for their schools in previous years are still eligible.

Employees, officers, and directors of Scholastic Book Clubs, Inc. (“Sponsor”), its affiliated and subsidiary companies, advertising and promotional agencies, and suppliers of promotional materials and services, and any other entity engaged in any way in the development, production, printing, distribution, or execution of the Sweepstakes, including but not limited to James Patterson and Hachette Book Group (collectively “Related Entities”), and members of the immediate family or household of such individuals are not eligible.

Pre-Application Information:

The entry time period is April 20, 2017, at 9:00 AM ET until July 31, 2017, at 11:59 PM ET.

Every week during the entry time period, 250 new winners are randomly selected through a drawing. There is no need to enter more than once—if you do not win, you are automatically entered in the following week’s drawing.

Weekly winners will be notified as they are selected during the entry time period. The last round of 250 winners (selected August 1, 2017) will be notified on or about August 7, 2017. A “big announcement” will take place on or about September 7, 2017, releasing the complete list of 3,500 winning teachers and classrooms.

Five hundred (500) Winners will be selected as Runners-Up and will receive a James Patterson Library.

Grants will be distributed after the “big announcement” on or about September 7, 2017. If the winning teachers chose to have the grant directly deposited into their Scholastic Reading Club account, it will be accessible within two weeks. If the winning teachers chose to receive the grant by check, it will be mailed within two months.

Winning teachers can either have the $500 grant directly deposited into their Scholastic Reading Club account, or they can have a check sent directly to them. If the winners prefer a check, they will be required to complete aW-9 form.


Sweepstakes Rules:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply online at the URL for Full Text below.

Contact Numbers:

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming