Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Award to a USA, Canada, or International Individual for Significant Contributions to Understanding Spirituality

The Templeton Prize


GrantWatch ID#

Funding Source
John Templeton Foundation
Array ( [0] => American Samoa (USA); [1] => Guam (USA); [2] => Puerto Rico (USA); [3] => Virgin Islands (USA); [4] => Northern Mariana Islands (USA); )

Geographic Focus
USA Territories: American Samoa (USA);   Guam (USA);   Puerto Rico (USA);   Virgin Islands (USA);   Northern Mariana Islands (USA);
USA Compact Free Associations:The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)
International, Israel and Canada.

Important Dates
Deadline: 07/01/18 11:00 PM EDT Save

Grant Description
Award to a USA, Canada, or International individual who has made an exceptional contribution to the exploration of life's spiritual dimension through work in any field, including science, philosophy, theology, philanthropy, writing, and scholarship. The nominee will have provided insight, discovery, or practical applications that progress humanity’s efforts to comprehend spirituality and the universe.

While not intended to celebrate any particular faith tradition or notion of God, the Prize seeks to recognize new understandings in the quest for progress in humanity's efforts to comprehend the many and diverse manifestations of the Divine. The Prize seeks and encourages breadth of vision, and new insights that human beings take their spiritual bearings from a range of experiences.

The qualities sought in a Templeton Prize nominee include creativity and innovation, rigor and impact. The judges seek, above all, a substantial record of achievement that highlights or exemplifies one of the various ways in which human beings express their yearning for spiritual progress. Consideration is given to a nominee's work as a whole, not just during the year prior to selection.

Nominations are especially encouraged in the fields of:

- Research in the human sciences, life sciences, and physical sciences.

- Scholarship in philosophy, theology, and other areas of the humanities.

- Practice, including religious leadership, the creation of organizations that edify and inspire examples of "Spiritual Progress"; and the development of new schools of thought - most specifically in the Foundation core themes presented above.

- Constructive Commentary In Journalism, and other modes of communication on matters of religion, virtue, character formation, and the flourishing of the human spirit.

These fields do not exhaust the areas in which achievement might qualify for the Templeton Prize, nor is it necessary for a nominee's work to be confined to just one field.


  • Others (see text field entitled "Additional Eligibility Criteria" for clarification)

Additional Eligibility Criteria
Men and women of any creed, profession, or national origin may be nominated for the Templeton Prize.

The distinguished roster of previous winners includes representatives of Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, and Buddhism, but also others as well.

The Prize has been awarded to scientists, philosophers, theologians, members of the clergy, philanthropists, writers, and reformers, for work that has ranged from the creation of new religious orders and social-spiritual movements to human sciences scholarship, to research about the fundamental questions of existence, purpose and the origins of the universe.

The Trustees and staff of the Templeton Foundations and subsidiaries, including members of their families, as well as Templeton Prize judges are not eligible.

Books, manuscripts, or other bodies of work are not eligible. The nomination must be made for a living individual.

Pre-Application Information
Nominations for the 2019 Templeton Prize must be received no later than July 1, 2018, at 11:00 PM EDT.

A minimum of 3 (three) and a maximum of 5 (five) references who can speak to the qualifications of the candidate is required. Letters of Reference must be received or postmarked by August 7, 2018.

Self-nominations are not considered. Submissions will be accepted only through the use of the online web form.

Your nomination remains active over a period of five Prize years. You are encouraged to update your candidate's dossier at any time if matters of significance occur that would enhance your candidate's nomination. This should be done by emailing Templeton Prize Office.

For more information about the nomination procedure:

FAQs page:

Number of Grants

Estimated Size of Grant
The Prize is a monetary award in the amount of £1,100,000 sterling.

Contact Information
Online nomination:

John Templeton Foundation
300 Conshohocken State Rd., Suite 500
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania 19428

610.941.2828 phone
610.825.1730 fax

Grant News
Live Chat Chat Now