Librarian of the Year

Awards to USA, Canada, and Mexico Librarians for
Extraordinary Achievements in the Library Profession

GrantWatch ID#: 174734
Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Library Journal

11/01/16 Postmarked

Request a Grant Writer

Awards to USA, Canada, and Mexico qualified librarians to recognize extraordinary achievements that demonstrate the top goals within the library profession. These goals may include the improvement and extension of library services to all areas of the local community; free access to information for all; the encouragement of reading and the creation of inducements to greater use of books and other library materials; and the strengthening of the library role and position in the community.

Examples of winning achievements can include but are not limited to:

- Creating innovative information services to serve identified community needs and thus enhance library service without resorting to user fees
- Building, rebuilding, and/or strengthening local political, fiscal, and public support
- Effectively promoting the use of the library’s services and collections
- Carving out a niche within a company, corporation, or campus that makes the library more vital and central to the mission and success of the firm or institution.

Any working professional librarian in any type of library anywhere in North America (United States, Canada, Mexico) is eligible.

“Professional” means a person in possession of a master’s degree in Library and/or Information Science and/or holding a position designated “professional” in a library or library service.

Nominations for Librarian of the Year are sought and welcome from the entire profession as well as from trustees, administrators, officials, colleagues, and citizens.

People nominated in previous years are also eligible.

Nominating letters should name the candidate and describe in 500 words or less why the nominee is deserving of recognition. Supporting letters and accompanying material will be considered, but the nominating letter itself will be of prime importance

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

As much as possible, please send submissions in an electronic format such as a Word document or a PDF directly via email to Rebecca Miller at

Or mail nominations to:

Librarian of the Year/LJ
Library Journal
123 William St., Suite 802
New York, NY 10038

See the full text of this grant

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon

International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.

Live Chat with a Grant Specialist

Our team of researchers and grant specialists review hundreds of funding resources daily to make sure provides members with the most up-to-date grants.

We have grants for:


Need help?

Hi, I would love to guide you through the site.
Please feel free to call or write.

Customer Sales & Support (561) 249-4129