Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award

Award to a USA, Canada, or International Individual or
Group for Outstanding Work in Collaborative Preservation

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Library Association (ALA) - Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award of $1,250 to a USA, Canada, or International individual or group to recognize and assist outstanding collaborative work in the field of preservation. Preservation projects may be conducted in historical institutions, libraries, or archives. Nominees should demonstrate vision, endorse cooperation, and advocate for the preservation of published and primary source resources that capture the richness of the cultural patrimony.

The award acknowledges and supports cooperative preservation projects and/or rewards individuals or groups that foster collaboration for preservation goals. The award recognizes the leadership and initiative required to build collaborative networks designed to achieve specific preservation goals. Since collaboration, cooperation, advocacy and outreach are key strategies that epitomize preservation, the award promotes cooperative efforts and supports equitable preservation.

The award jury will consider:

  • A project emphasizing collaboration or partnership.
  • Collaboration extending the preservation vision beyond the circle of preservation specialists and foster action to raise awareness and set priorities, projects, and programs into motion.
  • Nomination of an individual or group for cumulative achievement as a mentor or advocate of collaborative preservation.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 174890

Number of Grants:

No more than one award will be conferred per year.

Estimated Size of Grant:

The award consists of a citation, a listing on the ALCTS Awards website, and $1,250 given in support of the activity described by the winning submission or to the person being recognized for their contributions to collaborative preservation.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Any person or group is eligible for this award; membership in the ALA organization is not required.

Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Nominations for persons not selected for the award in one year may be resubmitted in subsequent years.

Pre-Application Information:

Deadline for nominations is December 1.

The award will be presented annually, when qualified applications or nominations are submitted. No more than one award will be conferred per year; however, the recipient can be any group or individual that fulfills the criteria for selection.

The award jury will assess the submissions in closed session at the ALA Midwinter Meeting. The recipient will be notified no later than March 1 and an announcement will be made via press release from ALCTS.

The award winner is announced during the PARS Preservation Administrator’s Interest Group (PAIG) meeting at ALA Annual Conference. The award is formally presented at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony during the ALA Annual Conference.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

For nomination information, contact Kara McClurken, chair of the George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Preservation Award Jury, at

American Library Association
50 E Huron St.
Chicago IL 60611

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.