Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Chevening Scholarship

Scholarships to Canada, Israel, and International
Individuals for Postgraduate Studies in the UK

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) - Chevening

Deadline Date:

11/08/18 12:00 GMT


Request a Grant Writer

Scholarships to Canada, Israel, and International individuals who have completed an undergraduate degree to undertake postgraduate studies at a UK university. Scholars must meet an English language requirement prior to commencing their studies and be accepted to a qualifying UK university. This scholarship program is intended to foster the development of global leadership around the world.

Chevening offers a unique opportunity for future leaders, influencers, and decision-makers from all over the world to develop professionally and academically, network extensively, experience UK culture, and build lasting positive relationships within the UK.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 175165

Term of Contract:

Scholars will begin their studies for the 2019/2020 academic year in September or October, 2019.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible for a Chevening Award you must:
- Be a citizen of a Chevening-eligible country
- Return to your country of citizenship for a minimum of two years after your award has ended
- Have an undergraduate degree that will enable you to gain entry to a postgraduate program at a UK university. This is typically equivalent to an upper second-class 2:1 honors degree in the UK.
- Have at least two years’ work experience
- Apply to three different eligible UK university courses and have received an unconditional offer from one of these choices by July 11, 2019
- Meet the Chevening English language requirement by July 11, 2019

You are not eligible for a Chevening Award if you:
- Hold British or dual British citizenship (unless you are a citizen of a British Overseas Territory or hold BN(O) and are applying from Hong Kong)
- Hold refugee status in a non-Chevening eligible country. Applicants who are citizens of a Chevening-eligible country and who hold refugee status in a Chevening-eligible country are eligible for an award.
- Are an employee, a former employee, or relative of an employee (since July 2016) of Her Majesty’s Government (including British Embassies/High Commissions, the Department for International Development, the Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy, Department for International Trade, the Ministry of Defence and the Home Office), the British Council, or a staff member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities. Employees, former employees, or relatives of an employee (since July 2016) of Chevening Partner organisations are eligible to apply, but cannot receive a Chevening/Partner Award from the organisation for which they work, previously worked, or are affiliated with through relatives.
(Note: Immediate relatives are defined as parents or step-parents, siblings or step-siblings, children or step-children, spouse, civil partner or unmarried partner (where the couple have been in a relationship akin to marriage or civil partnership for at least two years)
- Have previously studied in the UK with funding from a UK Government-funded scholarship. However, if you have previously studied under a UK Government-funded scholarship (including Chevening), you may be eligible to apply for a Chevening Fellowship five years after completion of your initial UK Government-funded scholarship.

Pre-Application Information:

Application Timeline:
- Applications open: 12:00 BST on August 6, 2018
- Applications close: 12:00 GMT on November 8, 2018
- Sifting of applications against eligibility criteria: November 7, 2018
- Independent reading committees assess eligible applications: Mid-November to December 2018
- Applications are shortlisted for interviews by the British Embassies/High Commissions in-country: January to early February 2019
- Applicants are notified that they have been selected for interview: By mid-February 2019
- Deadline for applicants invited to interview to submit references and undergraduate certificates: February 25, 2019
- Global interview period: March 4 to May 1, 2019
- Announcement of interview results: Early June 2019
- Deadline for UK university unconditional offers: July 11, 2019
- Deadline for meeting English language requirement: July 11, 2019
- 2019/2020 Chevening Scholars commence their studies in the UK: September/October 2019

Eligibility Criteria:

English Language Requirement:



Work Experience:

Online Application System Instructions:


Placement Timeline:

Browse Courses:


Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply Online:

Contact Form:

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.