Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Classroom Enhancement Grant

Grants to Rural Southern Oklahoma Schools
for Projects that Enrich Student Learning

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Oklahoma City Community Foundation - Carolyn Watson Rural Oklahoma Community Foundation

Deadline Date:

09/01/17 5:00 PM


Request a Grant Writer

Grants of up to $5,000 to Southern Oklahoma PreK through 12 public schools to enhance the classroom experiences for students in rural communities. Funding is intended to support enhancement projects that provide an opportunity to enrich the learning environment, specifically in the areas of the arts and humanities, science, and/or literacy.

Please note the following grant guidelines:

- Projects should be integrated into the academic curriculum and provide students with a significant opportunity to expand their knowledge or understanding in the specific area of study.
- Projects can be classroom or school-wide.
- The one-year grant may be used to create a new program or build upon existing programs and should provide classroom enhancement or enrichment.
- Projects should promote student learning and participation through a school-wide or collaborative teaching program that incorporates multiple classrooms, grades, libraries or engages partner schools or districts.
- Grants for student field trips, guest speakers or performers are strongly encouraged and must be integrated into the curriculum.
- Funds should not displace support which might be available from a school system or other sources. For example, funding requests for basic supplies or text books will not be considered.
- Grant requests must define specific goals and include a plan that allows the impact of the program to be assessed.
- The evaluation should include the number of students that will benefit from the project or program and costs associated with the project.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 175445

Estimated Size of Grant:

Up to $5,000

Term of Contract:

This is a one-year grant (for projects taking place during the 2017-2018 school year).

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Teachers, teacher teams or school principals at eligible schools are encouraged to apply.

Eligible public schools (grades PreK thru 12) must be located within one of the 20 counties below and have a “Rural” Urban-Centric Locale Code from the National Center for Education Statistics, or be one of the original school districts designated by Carolyn Watson.

Eligible Counties: Adair, Atoka, Bryan, Caddo, Cherokee, Choctaw, Coal, Greer, Harmon, Haskell, Jackson, Johnston, Kiowa, Latimer, Le Flore, McCurtain, Pushmataha, Sequoyah, Tillman, and Washita.

Specifically, the following 120 school districts are eligible:

- Adair County (9): Cave Springs, Dahlonegah, Greasy, Maryetta, Peavine, Rocky Mountain, Watts, Westville, Zion
- Atoka County (6): Atoka, Caney, Harmony, Lane, Stringtown, Tushka
- Bryan County (7): Bennington, Caddo, Calera, Colbert, Rock Creek, Silo
- Caddo County (10): Binger-Oney, Boone-Apache, Carnegie, Cement, Cyril, Fort Cobb-Broxton, Gracemont, Hinton, Hydro-Eakly, Lookeba-Sickles
- Cherokee County (10): Briggs, Grand View, Hulbert, Keys, Lowrey, Norwood, Peggs, Shady Grove, Tenkiller, Woodall
- Choctaw County (5): Boswell, Fort Towson, Grant, Soper, Swink
- Coal County (3): Coalgate, Cottonwood, Tupelo
- Greer County (1): Granite
- Harmon County (1): Hollis
- Haskell County (4): Keota, Kinta, McCurtain, Whitefield
- Jackson County (5): Blair, Duke, Eldorado, Navajo, Olustee
- Johnston County (6): Coleman, Mannsville, Milburn, Mill Creek, Ravia, Wapanucka
- Kiowa County (4): Hobart, Lone Wolf, Mountain View-Gotebo, Snyder
- Latimer County (3): Buffalo Valley, Panola, Red Oak
- Leflore County (12): Bokoshe, Cameron, Fanshawe, Hodgen, Howe, LeFlore, Monroe, Panama, Pocola, Talihina, Whitesboro, Wister
- McCurtain County (11): Battiest, Denison, Eagletown, Forest Grove, Glover, Haworth, Holly Creek, Lukfata, Smithville, Valliant, Wright City
- Pushmataha County (7): Albion, Antlers, Clayton, Moyers, Nashoba, Rattan, Tuskahoma
- Sequoyah County (9): Belfonte, Brushy, Gans, Gore, Liberty, Marble City, Moffett, Muldrow, Vian
- Tillman County (3): Davidson, Grandfield, Tipton
- Washita County (4): Burns Flat-Dill City, Canute, Corn Bible Academy, Sentinel

Funding for the following items will generally be excluded unless essential to the success of the program:

- Videos or DVDs
- Office equipment or furniture
- Computers, SMART boards, projectors, televisions or iPads
- Athletic, extracurricular or service learning activities or equipment
- Multi-media equipment such as digital cameras and video equipment

Pre-Application Information:

Application Process

Send an email to for access to the online application. Complete the online application form including all attachments. Please include the signature of all participating teachers and the principal.

Deadline to submit the online application is 5:00 p.m. on September 1, 2017.

A committee of professional educators will provide initial review and recommendation with final approval by the Trustees of the Carolyn Watson Rural Oklahoma Community Foundation.

Notifications will be sent to all applicants by Nov. 1, 2017.

Funds will be available when the contract signed by the superintendent of the district is received by the Carolyn Watson Rural Oklahoma Community Foundation.

The final report will be due by June 1, 2018 for projects requested for the 2017-2018 academic year.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Send an email to Erika Warren at for access to the online application.

Staff Contact:

Erika Warren, Grants
Phone: 405-606-2920

Oklahoma City Community Foundation
1000 N. Broadway
Oklahoma City, OK 73102

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Oklahoma: Adair, Atoka, Bryan, Caddo, Cherokee, Choctaw, Coal, Greer, Harmon, Haskell, Jackson, Johnston, Kiowa, Latimer, Le Flore, McCurtain, Pushmataha, Sequoyah, Tillman, and Washita Counties