Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

The Charles Bronfman Prize Grant

Award to a USA, Canada, or International Individual
Jewish Leader Who Has Made a Global Impact

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

The Charles Bronfman Prize

Deadline Date:

01/12/18 Close of Business


Request a Grant Writer

Award to recognize a USA, Canada, or International individual Jewish leader under the age of 50 who has made a significant, tangible, and positive global impact. Individuals may be nominated for achievements in any field, including the environment, genetics, medical education, public education, humanitarian relief, human rights, economy, and storytelling.

The Charles Bronfman Prize celebrates the intersection of Jewish values and universal humanitarian endeavors. While nominees must self-identify as Jewish, their endeavors should be universal, contributing to the betterment of the world at large.

Evaluation criteria include:

- Next generation leaders who have a vision for change that will better the world in a meaningful way.
- Nominees who have created a mechanism for acting on their vision in ways that deliver measurable results.
- Nominees who exhibit innovation, leadership and impact in their chosen field.
- Nominees whose Jewish values and universal regard for humanity inspire and serve as a model for future generations.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177586

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

The award is $100,000.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

- Individuals or teams, not organizations.

- Nominees who have not reached their 50th birthday by the close of the nomination period on Thursday, January 12th, 2018. There are no exceptions to this date.

- Nominees should self-define as being Jewish.

Pre-Application Information:

The annual cycle of The Charles Bronfman Prize begins in the Fall with a ‘Call for Nominations’ for the Prize to be presented the following year. The evaluation process is conducted in three stages over the winter and spring, with a recipient announced in early fall.

Nominees are bought to the attention of the Prize by a nominating team consisting of a Nominator and three References. Nominees cannot self-nominate. The Nominator acts as the point of contact between the Prize and the nominee during the nomination and evaluation process.

The ‘Call’ opens November 1, 2017, and closes January 12, 2018, to allow nominating teams to adequately prepare their nominations.

All nominating teams and nominees will be notified if they have not been successful in the summer. The Prize recipient will be announced in early fall.


Nomination instructions and requirements:

Applicants should address the following questions:


Delivery instructions:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Send Nomination packages to:

The Charles Bronfman Prize
445 Park Avenue, Suite 16A
New York, NY 10022

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.