Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

LJ Paralibrarian of the Year

Award to a USA Paralibrarian for
Contributions to the Library Profession

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Library Journal (LJ) and DEMCO

Deadline Date:

01/09/18 Postmarked or Emailed


Request a Grant Writer

Award of $1,500 to a USA paralibrarian to recognize outstanding contributions to the library profession. This award highlights the essential role of paralibrarians in promoting excellence in library service. Special emphasis is placed on the winner’s demonstrated efforts to further the role of paralibrarians in the library profession.

The criteria for LJ‘s Paralibrarian of the Year are excellence in performing their job, including contribution(s) enabling the library to best serve its constituents and/or its community (whether town, college/university, school, or corporation), the encouragement of reading and the use of the library’s resources, a commitment to free access to information for all, and the candidate’s work to build networks, organizations, and/or groups to back excellence in library work and new career paths for support staff, and improved communication and the breaking down of barriers between support staff and the MLS librarians with whom they work.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177671

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

The award comes with a $1,500 cash prize and a reception to honor the winner at the American Library Association conference.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

This award honors paralibrarians.

Pre-Application Information:

Nominating letters should name the candidate and describe in 500 words or less why the nominee deserves the award. Supporting letters and accompanying material will be considered, but the nominating letter itself will be of prime importance.

Nominations must be postmarked or emailed by January 9, 2018.

Library Journal will honor the 17th annual Paralibrarian of the Year awardee in its March 1, 2018, issue.

The winner will also be honored at the American Library Association conference in June.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Email submissions to (preferred):

Rebecca Miller

Or mail to:

The LJ Paralibrarian of the Year Award
Library Journal
123 William St., Suite 802
New York, NY 10038

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming