Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Supporting Artistic Practice - Sector Innovation and Development - Project

Grants to Canada Organizations and Groups to
Strengthen Arts Industry Networks and Opportunities

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Canada Council for the Arts

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Grants to Canada organizations, agencies, groups, and collectives for projects that strengthen the arts sector. Applicants must register online at least 30 days prior to the deadline. First-time applicants are encouraged to contact a program officer prior to applying. Examples of projects eligible under this component include but are not limited to:

-Representation or management services for a stable roster of three or more Canadian artists, groups or organizations;
-Production services for a number of Canadian artists, groups or organizations;
-Publishing critical and interpretive magazines that support 1 or more artistic practice;
-Developing new approaches to organizational models and management practices;
-Opportunities for shared learning and networking, resource exchange or other forms of collaboration (including mentorship programs);
-Organizing conferences, symposia, and workshops;
-Sector research;
-Implementing and adapting to new technologies;
-Organizational capacity-building projects (Equity arts sector only);
-Activities must have an impact in the arts sector beyond a personal gain or benefit to your group or organization (this does not apply to Equity groups and organizations).

Eligible expenses are direct costs related to project activities.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177879

Estimated Size of Grant:

Up to $100,000

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Types of potential applicants to this component include:
-Cultural connectors and sector builders (Equity arts sector)
-Artistic groups and collectives
-Architectural groups and collectives
-Artistic organizations
-National arts service organizations
-Support groups, organizations and shared platforms
-Festivals, presenters and touring networks
-Book and magazine publishers
-Agencies and management service organizations

Your eligibility to apply to this component is determined by the approved profile created in the portal.

To be eligible for a composite grant, you must have received at least 2 Canada Council project grants in the last 5 years. This excludes grants from travel programs (with the exception of Audience and Market Development Travel Grants).

Organizations presently receiving core (operating) grants from the National Arts Service Organizations component of Supporting Artistic Practice can apply for research projects only. Other organizations presently receiving core (operating) grants can apply for exceptional projects that extend beyond regular activities. You are responsible for demonstrating the exceptional nature of your project.

Magazine publishers: your application will not be eligible if your organization owes royalty payments to writers, illustrators, translators and/or other copyright licensors as of the application deadline.

You may not apply for activities that occur before your project start date, those that receive funding from another Canada Council program or those on the general list of ineligible activities.

Pre-Application Information:

-April 20, 2017
-December 15, 2017

If you have not already done so, you must register in the portal at least 30 days before you want to apply.

You are encouraged to speak with a Canada Council Program Officer before submitting an application to this component for the first time.

Notification of results is usually issued within three months of the deadline date.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Grants portal:

Direct questions to a Canada Arts Council officer:

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon