Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

John Cotton Dana (JCD) Library Public Relations Award

Awards to USA, Canada, and International Libraries
and Associated Groups for Excellence in Public Outreach

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

H.W. Wilson Foundation, American Library Association (ALA), and EBSCO

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards to USA, Canada, and International libraries and library-serving organizations to recognize an exemplary public relations or strategic communication program. Possible programs include year-long centennial celebrations, summer literacy programs, awareness campaigns, innovative community partnerships, or fundraising for a college library.

Libraries of all types and sizes are invited to enter their rebranding efforts, promotion of unique archives, awareness campaigns for an array of programs, services, resources, and spaces, and community partnerships.

John Cotton Dana Award entries are organized around three key areas: Needs Assessment and Planning, Implementation, and Evaluation. Libraries are able to submit samples of their processes, research, advertising (traditional print, radio, and television in addition to the gamut of social media — YouTube videos, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram), media coverage and other quantitative and qualitative results, along with thoughtful evaluation.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 179527

Estimated Size of Grant:

In recognition of their achievement, John Cotton Dana award winners receive a cash award from the H.W. Wilson Foundation.

Term of Contract:

The public relations or strategic communication program must have occurred entirely during 2018, the 2017‐2018 academic year, or a multi‐year project completed in 2018.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Strategic library communication campaigns may be submitted by any library, Friends group, consulting agency or service provider.

The only exclusions are institutions represented by John Cotton Dana Award Committee members, John Cotton Dana Award Committee members from the previous year, organizational units of the American Library Association, and EBSCO Information Services and the H.W. Wilson Foundation.

All types of libraries are welcome to enter, and international entries are welcome. Library Categories include:

- College/University
- Public
- School
- Special
- State
- Friends Group
- Library Associations
- Library Consortia
- Other

Pre-Application Information:

Interested applicants must apply by March 15, 2019. Electronic submissions are required. Awards for entries selected will be announced in Spring 2019.

All entrants will be invited to attend a special John Cotton Dana Awards Reception sponsored by EBSCO, the H.W. Wilson, and LLAMA/ALA at the ALA Annual Conference, where award‐winning campaigns will be honored.

For further information about the John Cotton Dana Award:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

To apply online:

For questions or concerns, please contact:

Kate Waldron


Patrick Zinn, JCD Committee Chair

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.