Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Princess Grace Choreography Award

Fellowships to USA Choreographers to Create New
Dance Works and Support Artistic Advancement

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Princess Grace Foundation (PGF) - USA

Deadline Date:

04/30/19 11:59 PM PST


Request a Grant Writer

Fellowships of $10,000 to USA choreographers for the creation of new artistic works that will be performed in public during the fellowship period. Funding is intended to encourage creative artistic advancements of emerging choreographers that broaden the artistic scope of the dance company.

Fellowships are awarded to an emerging choreographer through the nominating organization to fund the creation of an original work for public concert performance(s) that will be presented by the nominating organization. The new work may be brief but cannot exceed 20 minutes in length.

Funding will support the choreographer's fee as well as expenses associated with commission such as travel, lodging, production expenses for the new work, etc..

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 180036

Estimated Size of Grant:

The grant is for $10,000: $8,000 toward the choreographer’s fee and $2,000 toward expenses associated with commission (e.g. choreographer’s travel, lodging, or the production expenses for the new work, etc.).

Term of Contract:

Grant Period: September 1, 2019 - August 31, 2020

The fellowship helps fund the creation of an original work for public concert performance(s) that will be presented by the nominating organization during the grant period. Both the choreographic residency and the public performance(s) must occur within the grant period.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Princess Grace Awards are for emerging artists, or artists at the outset of their careers. In its evaluation of "emerging," the Dance Panel considers the choreographer's total body of choreographic work, commissions, awards and grants to gauage whether the aggregate represents a mid-career juncture and therefore beyond the "emerging" development stage.

Nominees and the proposed work must meet the following eligibility requirements:

- Applicants must be nominated by a company artistic director. Self-nominations are not allowed.
- Nominees must be U.S. citizens or have obtained permanent residency status.
- The nominated choreographer may not be the artistic director or resident choreographer of the nominating organization.
- The choreography must be set on the nominating organization’s dancers or project based dancers contracted specifically for this new work. The project may not include personnel currently employed by or working for the nominated choreographer.
- Proposed work may not include the choreographer as a performer.
- The nominated choreographer must demonstrate at least three years of choreographic experience. Within these three years, a maximum of two years may include dances created for college, university, and workshop settings. A minimum of one year must include work created for professional dance companies.
- No more than three works may have been created on the nominating organization. This includes any works for the nominating organization’s affiliate’s such as its school/academy or junior/apprentice company.
- Re-staging or re-examining of existing choreography does not qualify as a new work.

Fellowships must be completed in the United States, and can only be used in coordination with organizations located in the United States.

Professional non-profit dance organizations must meet the following eligibility requirements:

- Employ professional artistic and administrative staff.
- Have been in continuous operation as an independent 501(c)(3) non-profit for at least 3 years.
- Must demonstrate a history of hosting residencies for emerging choreographers for at least 3 years.
- Have a total of at least 10 weeks of rehearsal and performance per year.
- Demonstrate the ability to raise public and private funds.
- University residencies are not eligible

Pre-Application Information:

Deadline: April 30, 2019 (11:59 pm PST)

Applications are accepted online.

Notification of the grants will occur by July 31, 2019.

Choreography Fellowships are available through a nomination process for individuals affiliated with non-profit dance companies or organizations. Nominations are invited from the artistic directors of professional dance companies and directors of organizations/festivals hosting residencies for emerging choreographers that culminate in a public performance. A company/festival/organization may submit only one nominee.

The grant application is a 2-step online process requiring the input of both the nominee and the nominating organization. The nominee and nominating organization will each create separate accounts to facilitate the submission of the required documents, but need to work in conjunction with one another.


Application Instructions:

About the Awards Program:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online application portal:

For questions about the application process, please contact:

Diana Kemppainen, Program Director

For Grants Questions, email:

Princess Grace Foundation-USA
150 East 58th Street, 25th Floor
New York, New York 10155
P: 212.317.1470
F: 212.317.1473

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming