Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

National Crime Victims’ Service Awards

Awards to USA Individuals, Organizations, and
Programs for Outstanding Work in Victim Services

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) - Office for Victims of Crime (OVC)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards to USA individuals, organizations, programs, teams, and coalitions to recognize outstanding work in the field of victim services. The purpose of this awards program is to honor those who have made significant contributions to connecting victims of crime with quality assistance. Nominations will be accepted in the following award categories:

Allied Professional Award: This award recognizes an individual or individuals from a specific discipline outside the victim assistance field for their service to victims and/or contribution to the victims’ field.

Award for Professional Innovation in Victim Services: Instituted in 2001, this award is given in memory of Susan Laurence, an OVC employee who helped professionals who had not traditionally served victims to develop effective victim responses. In her honor, this award recognizes a program, organization, or individual who has helped to expand the reach of victims’ rights and services.

Crime Victims Financial Restoration Award: This award recognizes individuals, programs, organizations, or teams which have developed innovative ways of funding services for crime victims, or have instituted innovative approaches for securing financial restoration for crime victims.

Crime Victims’ Rights Award: This award honors the dedicated champions throughout the Nation whose efforts to advance or enforce crime victims’ rights have benefited victims of crime at the state, tribal, or national level.

Federal Service Award: This award recognizes the extraordinary efforts of federal agency personnel who lead initiatives or reforms and make extraordinary contributions that impact victims of federal, tribal, and military crimes, or more broadly promotes victims’ rights and services for underserved victims nationally and internationally. Federal agency nominees can include individuals, teams, programs, agencies, or their bureau/component personnel who impact victims of all types of crime. Those can include financial crimes, crimes committed in Indian Country, crimes committed on military installations or other federal property (such as national parks or government buildings), traditionally underserved U.S. crime victims, underserved international crime victims (e.g., promoting victims’ rights for international victims of foreign crimes), or federal crimes involving victims who may reside abroad (either U.S. citizens or foreign nationals).

National Crime Victim Service Award: This prestigious award honors extraordinary individuals and programs that provide services to victims of crime. The award recognizes programs and individuals whose work has been particularly noteworthy, and that exemplify the long-term commitment that characterizes many of the Nation’s victim service providers, some of whom are also victims of crime.

Ronald Wilson Reagan Public Policy Award: First announced during the 2005 National Crime Victims’ Rights Week Awards Ceremony, the Ronald Wilson Reagan Public Policy Award honors those whose leadership, vision, and innovation have led to significant changes in public policy and practice that benefit crime victims.

Special Courage Award: This award recognizes a victim or survivor who has exhibited exceptional perseverance or determination in dealing with his or her own victimization. It may also acknowledge an individual who has acted bravely either to aid a victim or to prevent a victimization.

Tomorrow's Leaders Award: This award seeks to honor and highlight youth up to age 24 years who have dedicated their efforts to supporting victims of crime. Whether they have taken a stand against bullying, peer pressure, domestic violence, stalking, human trafficking, child abuse, campus sexual assault, and/or victimization of minority communities including LGBTQ, etc., these youth have shown courage and leadership by raising awareness of a problem, highlighting a need for change in policies, and providing direct services for the victim(s).

Vision 21 Crime Victims Research Award: The Vision 21 Crime Victims Research Award recognizes individual researchers or research teams that made a significant contribution to the Nation’s understanding of crime victims issues. The findings from OVC’s landmark initiative, Vision 21: Transforming Victim Services Final Report, underscore the importance of "building a body of evidence-based knowledge" as well as conducting both qualitative and quantitative studies that will help agencies better understand victimization trends, services and behaviors, and enforcement efforts. Nominations that feature unique research-practitioner partnerships or innovative dissemination methods are particularly welcome.

Volunteer for Victims Award: Many of the dedicated men and women who serve crime victims do so without compensation. This award honors individuals for their extraordinary and selfless efforts resulting in positive and lasting changes in the lives of crime victims.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 181401

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

You may nominate one or more worthy candidates, including individuals, programs, organizations, teams, or a coalition of individuals and programs.

Nominees can include, but are not limited to, federal, state, local, or tribal professionals and volunteers in direct victim services and allied professions. Victims and survivors of crime are eligible for the Special Courage Award.

Previous award recipients, regardless of award category, are not eligible for subsequent awards.

Elected officials are not eligible for consideration.

Candidates nominated, but not selected, in previous years are eligible for consideration.

Pre-Application Information:

If you know a deserving individual, group, team, or program, submit a nomination by July 31, 2017.

About the Awards:

Eligibility Requirements:

Submission Guidelines:

Nomination Instructions and Resources:

Nomination Letters Instructions:

View Past Recipients:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit Nominations:

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming