Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction

Awards to Canada Authors for Recently
Published Literary Nonfiction Books

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Writers' Trust (WT) of Canada

Deadline Date:

07/18/18 - Deadline for books published between March 14, 2018 and May 15, 2018


Request a Grant Writer

Award of $60,000 and awards of $5,000 to Canada authors for producing outstanding literary nonfiction books published between October 1, 2017 and September 30, 2018. Nominations must be made by the book publisher. All titles must be in English, though translations are acceptable, as well as books originally published in other countries.

Literary nonfiction includes, among other forms, works of personal or journalistic essays, memoirs, commentary, criticism both social and political, history, and biography. Finalist works will demonstrate a distinctive voice, as well as a persuasive and compelling command of tone, narrative, style, and technique. The overall effect of such writing should provide the general reader with an informed, unique perspective on the issue at hand.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 181425

Number of Grants:

One winner and between three to five finalists.

Estimated Size of Grant:

The winner will receive $60,000 and finalists will receive $5,000. In the event of a translation winning the prize, the prize money will be divided as follows: $45,000 to the author, $15,000 to the translator.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Titles must be published between between October 1, 2017 and September 30, 2018. Books that are not yet in final published form by the final deadline of July 18 may be submitted as bound galleys.

Books must be English-language, first-edition trade books, written by Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada. Previous publication in another country does not disqualify a book.

Translations from other languages into English are eligible and will be considered in the year in which the English translation is published. In the event of a translation winning the prize, the prize money will be divided as follows: $45,000 to the author, $15,000 to the translator.

To be eligible to submit books for consideration publishing houses must have a professional editorial process independent from the authors whose books are submitted. They must not charge authors for publishing their works.

All books must have an ISBN number and be available in Canadian bookstores for some duration between between October 1, 2017 and September 30, 2018.

Titles may be single-authored or co-authored. Multi-authored collections, anthologies, and conference proceedings are not eligible.

Self-published books are not eligible.

Ghostwritten books are not eligible.

No more than 20% of the manuscript can have previously been published in book form.

Books whose author was deceased at the time of publication are not eligible.

Publishers should note that the prize is for literary excellence; they should only submit books deemed outstanding in this regard.

Pre-Application Information:

The schedule for submissions is tied to publication dates as follows:

Deadline 1: Wednesday, March 14, 2018
For books published between October 1, 2017 and March 13, 2018

Deadline 2: Wednesday, May 16, 2018
For books published between March 14, 2018 and May 15, 2018

Deadline 3: Wednesday, July 18, 2018
For books published between May 16, 2018 and September 30, 2018

Publishers are strongly encouraged to submit books prior to the deadlines. Submissions upon release of titles are appreciated. If a publisher, for any reason whatsoever, feels they cannot submit titles in accordance with the above schedule it is requested that they contact the Program Manager to discuss alternate arrangements or the possibility of an extension.

All publishers of original manuscripts may enter two books by Canadian authors. Companies publishing more than ten eligible nonfiction titles may add one book for every additional ten eligible books (or fraction thereof) on their nonfiction list, up to a maximum of five.

The list of finalist authors will be announced in September 2018 and the award will be presented in November 2018 in Toronto at the Writers' Trust Awards.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

The nomination form may be found on the URL for Full Text link below.

Additionally, send the book submissions to:
Amanda Hopkins, Program Manager
Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction
Writers’ Trust of Canada
600 - 460 Richmond Street West
Toronto, ON M5V 1Y1

1-877-906-6548 x242 (Toll Free)
416-504-8222 x242

For further information, or if you encounter problems with this form, please contact:

Amanda Hopkins, Program Manager
1-877-906-6548 x242 (Toll Free)
416-504-8222 x242

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon