Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Alaska Historical Society (AHS) Awards

Awards to Alaska Individuals and Organizations for
Contributions to the Documentation of State History

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Alaska Historical Society (AHS)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards to Alaska individuals, historical societies, museums, and agencies for contributions to the preservation, research, and understanding of state and local history. The award is intended to recognize those who have shown excellence in the education and promotion of Alaska history.

Awards are given in the following categories:

The Evangeline Atwood Award is given to an individual for significant long-term contributions to Alaska state or local history. The award is named for one of the founders of the Alaska Historical Society who wrote, supported, and advocated for Alaska history from the 1940s into the 1990s.

The Elva R. Scott Local Historical Society Award recognizes a community historical society or museum for its newsletter, a publication, programs, or other significant recent accomplishment. Elva Scott was a founder of Homer’s Pratt Museum and for over 20 years the tireless, creative, and talented editor of the Eagle Historical Society newsletter.

The Jim Ducker Historian of the Year Award is given to an Alaska resident for publication of notable new material about Alaska history this past year.

The Barbara Sweetland Smith Pathfinder Award recognizes contributions to the discovery and description of resources relating to Alaska history.

The Esther Billman Certificate of Excellence recognizes a state or local society, museum, government agency, or an organization that has completed a project contributing to the preservation and understanding of Alaska history during the past year. Esther Billman’s efforts to preserve Alaska history and develop the Sheldon Jackson Museum are commemorated by the award now given in her name.

Contributions to Alaska History Award recognizes an individual or individuals who have made singular and significant recent contributions to Alaska history.

The 2017 Awards are given annually at the conference. This year’s conference is September 27-30, 2017 in Anchorage.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 181888

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Individuals, historical societies, and public institutions are recognized through this awards program.

Pre-Application Information:

All award winners are selected by the Alaska Historical Society Awards committee based on nominations made by the public.

More information about the awards:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Please send nominations to:
Michael Hawfield, Awards Committee Chair

Alaska Historical Society
P.O. Box 100299
Anchorage AK 99510-0299

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alaska