Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Genentech Age-related Macular Degeneration (AMD) Research Fellowship

Fellowships to USA, Canada, and International Postdoc
Investigators for Macular Degeneration Research

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

ARVO Foundation for Eye Research

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Fellowships of $40,000 to USA, Canada, and International postdoctoral researchers affiliated with nonprofit or academic institutions for studies that address macular degeneration disorders related to aging. Funding from the fellowship may be used for research and related salary and benefits.

As many as 11 million people in the United States have some form of age-related macular degeneration. This number is expected to double to nearly 22 million by 2050. The impact of age-related macular degeneration on the global aging population is enormous as people are deprived of their economic livelihoods and independence. Eye and vision researchers have already discovered several genes at work in AMD, the distinctions between types of AMD and the development of therapeutic remedies. The ARVO Foundation for Eye Research believes the work must continue so that there can be earlier identification of those likely to develop AMD, discovery of ways to slow the progression of the disease and novel ways to treat AMD to limit sight loss.

One fellowship will be awarded in each of the following areas:
-Basic research in the understanding of AMD, and
-Translational AMD research focusing on therapeutics (not yet in clinical trials)

Recipients will be expected to submit their findings for possible presentation at an ARVO Annual Meeting and publish results, as appropriate.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 181966

Number of Grants:

Two fellowships will be awarded, one in each program area.

Estimated Size of Grant:

Fellowships of $40,000 each will be awarded.

Term of Contract:

Grants are for a period of one-year and must commence within six months of award notification.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Fellowships are available to newly established investigators who are age 45 or younger at the application deadline and have received their MD, PhD or equivalent degree after 2007.

-Candidates must hold an MD, PhD, DVM, DO, OD or equivalent degree
-Applicant must serve as the Principal Investigator on the project
-No geographical restrictions
-Applicants are not required to be members of ARVO
-Applicants must currently be working in nonprofit or academic research centers
-Previous recipients are not eligible

Funds may not be used for purchasing equipment. No overhead fees can be assessed

Pre-Application Information:

2017 Genentech AMD Fellowships Timeline:
-Application opens: July 1, 2017
-Application closes: September 1, 2017
-Recipients notified: November 2017

Applications will be reviewed by the ARVO Foundation Awards Committee comprised of internationally recognized experts. The deliberations of the Award Committee are confidential and their decision is final.

Application and Review Process:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply Online:

ARVO Foundation for Eye Research
1801 Rockville Pike, Suite 400
Rockville, MD 20852-5622

P: +
F: +

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.