Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

The Mechthild Esser Nemmers Prize in Medical Science

Grant to a USA, Canada, or International
Physician-Scientist for Excellence in Medical Research

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Northwestern University

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Grant to a USA, Canada, or International physician-scientist for excellence in medical science demonstrated by a body of research that contains works of long term significance. Selected applicant will engage in academic activities in connection with the award including a public lecture at Northwestern University.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 182436

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

The Mechthild Esser Nemmers Prize in Medical Science includes a monetary prize of $200,000 and is awarded biennially.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Candidacy for the Nemmers Prize is open to physician-scientists whose body of research exhibits outstanding achievement in their disciplines as demonstrated by works of lasting significance. Individuals of all nationalities and institutional affiliations were eligible except current or recent members of the Northwestern University faculty and recipients of the Nobel Prize.

Pre-Application Information:

Entries for the 2020 Mechthild Esser Nemmers Prize in Medical Science are being accepted through Nov. 1, 2019.

Nominations are submitted via website. Eight to 10 nominations will be selected for review by a panel of three external (not employed by Feinberg or Northwestern University) jurors. From these finalists, the jury panel selects a winner.

- About the Prize:
- Mechthild Esser Nemmers Prize in Medical Science:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Nominate a candidate:

For questions related to the nomination process, please contact:

Feinberg School of Medicine
Arthur J. Rubloff Building, 12th Floor
420 East Superior Street
Chicago, IL 60611

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.