Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching Short-Term Program

Program for USA K-12 Teachers and Educators for
Short-Term Placements in International Institutions

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

U.S. Department of State - Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA) - Institute of International Education (IIE)

Deadline Date:

02/28/18 11:59 PM CT


Request a Grant Writer

Program for USA K-12 teachers and educators to participate in short-term, collaborative projects at international institutions. Participating teachers will consult with and support nonprofit organizations, teacher training institutions, schools, and other educational organizations.

These grants give U.S. educators the flexibility to participate in the Fulbright Program while meeting their teaching and professional commitments.

Project opportunities will be available in thirteen countries for the 2018 program year. U.S. teachers may apply for only one project in one of the thirteen participating countries. Grants for 2018 are available in Botswana, Brazil, Cambodia, Colombia, Ghana, Honduras, India, Kuwait, Mexico, the Palestinian Territories, Philippines, South Korea, Spain, and Vietnam.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 182532

Estimated Size of Grant:

The grant award provides funding for program expenses while abroad, including travel costs, lodging, meals, local transportation, and related expenses.

Term of Contract:

The 2018 Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching Short-Term Program will offer project opportunities over approximately a two to six week period between May and October 2018.

Through the Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching Short-Term Program, U.S. K-12 teachers and educators can apply for grants to engage in collaborative projects for approximately 2-6 weeks abroad, with a preference for 3 or more weeks.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Current full-time primary through secondary level teachers, guidance counselors, curriculum specialists, curriculum heads, Talented and Gifted coordinators, Special Education coordinators, media specialists/librarians, and other types of educators are eligible to apply, as long as they spend at least 50% of their time directly working with students. Alumni of other Fulbright Teacher Exchange Programs are also eligible to apply. School administrators are not eligible.

To meet the basic eligibility requirements of the program, an applicant must meet all of the following requirements at the time of application:
-Be a U.S. citizen;
-Be fluent in English;
-Hold a Master’s degree (or be enrolled in a Master’s program at the time of application);
-Be employed full-time at an accredited school in the U.S. or in a U.S. territory;
-Spend at least 50% of their time teaching or working directly with primary or secondary level students;
-Have taught primary or secondary students full-time for at least five years;
-Demonstrated experience conducting professional development activities;
-Demonstrate accomplishment in teaching or having previously received teaching awards or exemplary evaluations;
-Meet current Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board policies for U.S. teachers.
-For additional requirements, please view each individual project summary for more information. 


Participants in U.S. Department of State programs should represent the diversity of political, social and cultural life. Diversity should be interpreted in the broadest sense and encompass differences including but not limited to ethnicity, race, gender, religion, geographic location, social-economic status, disabilities and sexual orientation.

If you are not a U.S. citizen and do not reside in one of the 50 U.S. states or in a U.S. territory, do not continue with this application; you are not eligible for this Fulbright program. Please note that U.S. permanent residents are not eligible to apply.

If you are a U.S. teacher and you are not currently employed full-time as an educator who works with students for at least 50% of your role at a single primary or secondary (grades K-12) school or school district and will not be next year, please do not continue with this application; you are not eligible for this Fulbright program.

Pre-Application Information:

The application deadline is February 28, 2018. All applicants must submit their applications by 11:59 PM Central Time on the evening of February 28.

Consider the people you will ask to complete an online recommendation for your application. You must have a total of 3 references – 1 reference from your immediate supervisor and 2 other professional references.

-January 2018: Online application available
-February 28, 2018: Application deadline
-March: Applications screened for eligibility and completeness
-March: Applicants notified of eligibility status; eligible applications undergo final review
-April: Applications of recommended teachers undergo final review by partners abroad
-April: Once FSB selection decisions are made, teachers notified of final application status

About the Short-Term Program:

Program Opportunities by Country:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply Online:

Institute of International Education (IIE)
1400 K Street NW, Suite 700
Washington, DC 20005


URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming