Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence and for Teaching Excellence in STEM

Awards to Canada K-12 Teachers and Groups of
Teachers for Exceptional Achievements in Education

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Government of Canada

Deadline Date:

01/12/18 Postmarked for mailed submissions


Request a Grant Writer

Awards of up to $5,000 to Canada kindergarten, elementary, and secondary teachers and groups of teachers from any discipline to honor exceptional achievements in education, as well as excellence in STEM education. Two separate awards will be given in this program:

The Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence

These awards honor outstanding and innovative elementary and secondary school teachers in all disciplines for their remarkable educational achievements and for their commitment to preparing their students for a digital and innovation‑based economy. The recipients' monetary awards are funded by the RBC Foundation.

The Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence in STEM

New this year, awards will also recognize inspirational Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) teachers at the elementary or secondary school level who keep students engaged in STEM learning and who help develop the culture of innovation that Canada needs today, and in the future.

In selecting award recipients, the committee looks for clear evidence that nominees have excelled in all of the following five areas:

1. Digital and Creative Literacy in the Classroom
2. Innovative and Exemplary Teaching Practices
3. Support Student Success and Skills Development
4. Global Citizenship and Community Involvement
5. Commitment and Leadership

Applications for the Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence and for Teaching Excellence in STEM will be judged on the same selection criteria. Nominators for the STEM award must include specific examples on how the teacher displays excellence in STEM based teaching.

The financial award is to be spent in collaboration with the recipient. Award funds may be used for professional development, equipment, resource materials, website development, teaching aids or other tools that improve teaching and student learning.

The Prime Minister's Awards aim to present at least one Certificate of Excellence or one Certificate of Achievement for each of the following regions, provided standards of excellence are met:

- British Columbia;
- The Prairies (Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba);
- The North (Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut);
- Ontario;
- Quebec; and,
- Atlantic Canada (New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland and Labrador).

The Prime Minister's Awards aim to present at least one Certificate of Excellence or one Certificate of Achievement to top-ranked Indigenous teachers, provided standards of excellence are met.

Recipients of the award receive the following:

Cash awards worth up to $5,000
A certificate from the Prime Minister
Promotion of their best teaching practices
National recognition for their contribution to excellence in education in Canada

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 144481

Estimated Size of Grant:

Up to $5,000

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

At the time of nomination, all nominees must meet the following criteria:

- Nominees must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents.
- Nominees must be certified to teach in a public or private school in a Canadian province/territory. Evidence: A copy of the nominee's original teaching certificate must be provided.
- A nominee's teaching certification must be in good standing with their provincial/territorial governing body.
- Nominees must have taught in a Canadian school at the elementary or secondary level at least 2.5 days per week in a classroom setting for a minimum of three years and must still be teaching at the time of nomination. Evidence: An employer letter confirming a minimum of three years' employment in an elementary or secondary school at least 2.5 days per week is required. Separate employer letters are required in cases where the teacher has worked in different schools over the three-year period.

Certified Kindergarten teachers can be nominated for a Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence.

Teams of up to three teachers can be nominated for an award. Award funds are shared equally among the team members.

Some provinces and territories are beginning to integrate early childhood education programs into the K–12 system. Eligibility for individual or team nominations which may fall under both award categories will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

Pre-Application Information:

Nomination packages must be submitted to the Prime Minister’s Awards program office by January 12, 2018.

Nominators may be any person or group with direct knowledge of the nominee's contribution, such as:

- Students
- Parents
- Fellow teacher
- School principal or supervisor, etc.

The following are not acceptable nomination methods:

- Self-nominations
- Nominations from immediate family members Footnote 1.
- Posthumous nominations

Three (3) letters must be provided with each nomination, and must be dated and signed by the author.

Eligibility criteria:


Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit your nomination electronically to:

Or mail to the following address:

Prime Minister's Awards
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
C.D. Howe Building
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon