Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Allie Beth Martin Award

Award to a USA Public Librarian to Recognize Outstanding
Knowledge of Books and Service to the Public

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Public Library Association and Baker and Taylor

Deadline Date:

12/04/17 11:59 PM CT


Request a Grant Writer

Award of $3,000 to a USA librarian working in a public library setting to recognize outstanding depth and range of knowledge about library materials. Eligible nominees are those that demonstrate an exceptional knowledge of fiction, nonfiction, reference materials and videos, and an excellent ability to share the knowledge through presentations to community groups, book talks, or written reviews.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 144803

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

The Allie Beth Martin Award provides recognition and a $3,000 honorarium.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Librarians who work in a public library setting are eligible to be nominated. The word “librarian” is defined as a professional possessing a Master of Library Science degree. Therefore, persons not having earned an MLS are ineligible to receive the Allie Beth Martin Award.

Members of the current Allie Beth Martin Award Jury are ineligible to receive Allie Beth Martin Award.

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline to apply for PLA 2018 Service Awards and Grants is December 4, 2017 at 11:59 PM Central. PLA reserves the right to extend the deadline.

How to apply:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply online:

800-545-2433, ext. 5PLA (5752)

ALA American Library Association
50 E. Huron St.
Chicago, IL 60611

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming