GW Link

Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Hilton Humanitarian Prize

Award to a USA, Canada, or International Nonprofit
for Outstanding Contributions to Humanitarian Aid

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Conrad N. Hilton Foundation

Deadline Date:

10/01/19 11:59 PM PDT


Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA, Canada, or International nonprofit organization to recognize outstanding efforts toward alleviating human suffering. The purpose of this award is to honor and advance the recipient organization’s efforts and call attention to the global need for humanitarian aid, thereby encouraging others to expand their support.

The nomination letter should emphasize the organization’s accomplishments rather than future goals. Both historic and recent performance should be addressed. Following are elements to consider in describing your nominee’s work:
- Extraordinary contributions toward alleviating human suffering
- Established record of achievement
- Demonstration of impact
- Ability to serve as a model for other nonprofits
- Demonstration of effective partnerships
- Innovation in program design
- Organizational capacity and administrative efficiency

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 146363

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Number of Grants:


Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Nominations must be for 501(c)3 organizations or the international equivalent. Nominations for individuals are not accepted for the Hilton Humanitarian Prize.

Nominee eligibility:
- Nominees must be organizations, not individuals.
- Nominees must be established, nongovernmental, publicly supported charitable organizations. U.S. Internal - Revenue Service tax-exempt status—or the equivalent for international organizations—will determine eligibility. (International nominees will be contacted by the Foundation for appropriate documentation.)
- Nominees must be legally established for at least five years in order to be considered.
- Nominees must have audited financial statements for at least five years.
- Nominees must have expenditures greater than U.S. $750,000 in their most recent audited fiscal year of operation.
- It is strongly encouraged that if a nominee has multiple branch offices that the umbrella organization be the nominee.

Nominator qualifications:
- The nominator should have direct knowledge of the nominated organization’s work.
- The nominator may not be an officer or employee—or any other individual receiving remuneration for his or her services from the nominated organization. Board members may nominate providing they receive no payment for their service.
- The nominator may not be a family member of an officer or employee of the nominated organization.
- The nominator may not be the founder of the nominated organization.
- The nominator may not be a Conrad N. Hilton Foundation employee, board member, Prize juror or a family member of a Foundation employee, board member, or Prize juror.
- The nominator may not be a Hilton family member.

Pre-Application Information:

The nomination period will close on Tuesday, October 1, 2019, at 11:59 PM PDT.

The nomination process is done entirely online offsite link. Once an organization has been nominated, the Foundation will contact the nominee directly to ask for additional information.

Prize information:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit a nomination online:


URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.