Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

FilmWatch Grants

Grants to USA and Canada Film Societies, Festivals, and Organizations
for Screenings of Films that Promote Cultural Diversity

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA and Canada nonprofit film societies, film festivals, and film-related organizations for curated screening programs. Funding is intended to support programs that provide a platform for underrepresented artists, promote motion pictures as an art form, foster culturally diverse viewing experiences, and cultivate new and dedicated audiences for theatrical film.

Through the Grants program, the Academy seeks to:

  •  Promote diversity
  •  Bridge the opportunity divide
  •  Attract and engage broad new audiences for theatrical motion pictures 
  •  Provide a platform for underrepresented artists, the full range of film genres, and a variety of viewpoints and approaches 
  •  Encourage filmmaking as a vocation
  •  Illuminate less visible aspects of filmmaking and the film industry through scholarly research, presentations and discussions

The Academy considers programs that seek to:

  •  Nurture theatrical motion pictures in all categories and genres, including silent, ethnic (African/Latino/Asian/Native Peoples), LGBT, short, documentary, animated, and experimental films
  •  Provide underrepresented filmmakers greater access to audiences
  •  Engage and develop new and dedicated film audiences, especially those from diverse cultural and geographic backgrounds

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 165370

Term of Contract:

Grants awarded during this funding cycle are for programs that will be initiated and completed between April 1, 2020, and March 31, 2021.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Grants are available only to North America-based film festivals, film societies and other film-related organizations.

Applying organizations must:

- Have nonprofit, tax-exempt status at the time of application
- Apply directly on its own behalf (fiscal sponsors for U.S.-based organizations are not allowed)
- Have a five-year history of programming
- Submit complete, punctual final reports for all Academy grants received, and maintain an excellent submission record

FilmWatch grants do not fund:

- Programming centered on the screening of any particular new film
- Competitions or awards programs
- The screening of works produced specifically for television or nontheatrical media, or events or programs that focus on such works
- Programs targeting children less than 12 years of age
- Parties, receptions, luncheons, tribute dinners or similar events; hospitality suites and services
- The development, production or completion of films
- Capital expenses
- Administrative, overhead or permanent staffing expenses
- More than 50 percent of a program’s cost (some exceptions for small programs)
- Individuals or for-profit companies or organizations
- Programs at any one institution for more than three consecutive years

Pre-Application Information:

Proposals must be submitted through the Academy’s online application system by November 1, 2019.

All applicants will be notified (via e-mail) of their proposal status in March 2020. Funds will be distributed in March 2020.

Organizations will be limited to one grant application per cycle. Parent and subsidiary organizations are considered a single entity.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online application portal:

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
8949 Wilshire Boulevard
Beverly Hills, California 90211

Telephone: (310) 247-3000

Contact form:

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon