Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

2018 Arkansas Teacher of the Year

Award to an Arkansas Public School Teacher for
Outstanding Instruction in PreK-12 Classrooms

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Arkansas Department of Education

Deadline Date:

06/30/17 6:00 PM


Request a Grant Writer

Award to an Arkansas PreK-12 public school teacher in recognition of excellence in classroom instruction. The winner will be placed on administrative paid leave during the upcoming academic year for professional development and will provide technical assistance to teachers and students.

Additionally, the winner will serve as a non-voting member of the State Board of Education and will serve as an ambassador for education in Arkansas, making public appearances across the state. The Arkansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Arkansas in the National Teacher of the Year program.

Duties include the following:

-Serving on paid administrative leave from his or her district to work with the ADE.

-Developing professional development and providing technical assistance to Arkansas teachers and students.

-Serving as a non-voting member of the State Board of Education.

-Serving as an ambassador for education in Arkansas.

-Making appropriate public appearances across the state.

-Representing Arkansas in the National Teacher of the Year competition.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 170962

Number of Grants:


Term of Contract:

The ATOY will begin his or her duties on July 1, 2018, and will end his or her duties on June 30, 2018.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Candidates must meet the following minimum criteria:

-Candidates shall be skillful and dedicated teachers in grades pre-kindergarten through 12.

-The ATOY candidate must be engaged directly in instruction in a classroom setting for more than 70 percent of the individual’s contracted time.

-Instructional literacy facilitators must spend at least 70 percent of their time in the classroom to qualify.

-Administrators, librarians, and guidance counselors are not eligible.

Pre-Application Information:

Each public school district in Arkansas may select one teacher as its District Teacher of the Year and nominate that teacher for the ATOY.

The deadline to submit all materials, including the online application and supplemental documents, is 6:00 PM, Friday, June 30, 2017.

A selection panel assembled by the ADE will review the applications and select 16 regional finalists, one representing each education service cooperative area and one representing Pulaski County.

The panel will select four state semi-finalists from among the regional finalists. The panel will conduct site visits before submitting a recommendation to the commissioner of education for approval.

Review full guidelines and application instructions here:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Candidates nominated by their districts must complete an online application packet consisting of the 2018 ATOY Application Form, which is available at this link:

Submit supplemental documents to:

For more information, please contact:

Kimberly Friedman, Director of Communications

Arkansas Department of Education
Office of Communications
Four Capitol Mall, Room 404-A
Little Rock, AR 72201

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Arkansas