Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Individual Support Grant

Grants to USA, Canada, or International Mature Artists
to Support Professional Development in Visual Arts

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

The Adolph and Esther Gottlieb Foundation

Deadline Date:

12/15/17 11:59 PM EST


Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA, Canada, or International individual artists to support professional development. Applicants must have been working in a mature phase of their artwork for at least two decades. Qualified artists must work in the areas of painting, printmaking, or sculpture.

The Foundation wishes to encourage artists who have dedicated their lives to developing their art, regardless of their level of commercial success.

Maturity is based on the level of intellectual, technical, and creative development maintained over this time period. Artists must show that their primary involvement has been with their artistic goals, regardless of other personal or financial responsibilities.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 172653

Number of Grants:

Twelve grants are awarded each year.

Estimated Size of Grant:

Last year the Foundation awarded grants of $25,000 each.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Grants are available only to mature individual visual artists.

The Foundation’s grant programs are open to both US based and International artists. US citizenship or residency is not required.

Eligible applicants will be able to demonstrate that they have been working in a mature phase of their art for at least 20 years.

Artists must work in the disciplines of painting, sculpture, or printmaking.

In addition to the maturity requirement, eligibility for a grant is determined by the applicant’s current financial need.

The Foundation does not fund organizations, projects, educational institutions, students, graphic artists, or those working in crafts. The disciplines of photography, film, video, or related forms are not eligible unless the work directly involves, or can be interpreted as, painting or sculpture.

The Foundation does not consider requests for funding of educational purposes.

Applicants who did not receive an award from the Gottlieb Foundation Individual Support Program may re-apply every year. Recipients of this grant must wait one year after receiving their grant before reapplying. Please note that as of the 2018 Grant Cycle, applicants who have previously received an Individual Support grant from the Foundation three times or more are no longer eligible to apply for this grant program.

Pre-Application Information:


The final reviews occur in late March or early April. Applicants are notified by mail and email usually in mid April.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

To apply:

Sheila Ross, Grants Manager

The Adolph & Esther Gottlieb Foundation
380 West Broadway
New York, NY 10012

Phone: 212-226-0581
Fax: 212-274-1476

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.